How to Block Someone on TikTok

Despite being pretty strict on content and communication policies, TikTok is not immune to abuses. In fact, some criminal charges have been raised regarding the abuse of underage users. And the saddening fact is that there’ll always be criminal minds who try to take advantage of an otherwise fun and well-meaning social network.

Even online bullying can be heart-wrenching, even though there’s usually nothing criminal about it. So you shouldn’t think twice about blocking and reporting a user that’s been giving you a hard time. Keep reading to find out how to do it.

Blocking People on TikTok

There’s not much to blocking or reporting a user on TikTok – the actions are pretty much the same as with most other social network platforms. Nevertheless, it pays to take a close look at the required steps.

Step 1

Launch the app and find the person you’d like to block. The great thing is that you don’t need to follow the person to initiate the block.

profile

Once you see a post of that person, tap on their username, and select the three horizontal dots in the upper right corner of the screen.

Step 2

As soon as you do that, a pop-up window with more actions appears. Tap the “Block” button below different sharing options, and you’re good to go.

share

You can also report a user here. Tap on the “Report” button, and TikTok will take you to the “Please select a reason” window. You need to tick a few boxes before submitting, but the menus are intuitive and user-friendly, so it shouldn’t take you more than a minute to report someone.

Important Notes

TikTok informs you that the report has been sent via a small notification. However, it’s still unclear if you get any feedback after the platform processes your request. For example, something like an email saying that the person who impersonates you has got banned from the platform. If you have any experience with this, feel free to share it in the comments section below.

On the other hand, the user gets immediately blocked, and the content from the profile disappears. The platform logs your preferences, and you won’t see posts from that user in the feed. Plus, there is an option to manage your blocks.

How to Manage Blocked Users on TikTok

To see the users you’ve blocked and maybe undo the action, tap on the Me icon at the bottom right of the screen. Then hit the three horizontal dots to access the More menu.

privacy and settings

Select “Privacy and safety” under the Account tab and swipe all the way down in the next window. Tap “Your block list” at the bottom of the page and tap the “Unblock” button if the person no longer deserves to be there.

block list

With this in mind, there’s more to the “Privacy and safety” window than just the list of blocked users. Check out how to keep your profile safe from hate speech, online bullies, and downright digital criminals.

Tweaking TikTok Safety Features

It’s worth noting that the Safety options and menus are under the “Privacy and safety” window. Since you already know how to get there, we won’t reiterate the steps.

Anyway, there are seven different options to filter the content you get, and others can see. First, there is a menu to restrict comments on your posts and prevent others from Dueting with you. By default, both features are set to Everyone, though you set them to Friends or disable it altogether.

The same applies to TikTok reactions, but the cool thing is that you can limit the users who are allowed to message you to just Friends. The app should be set like that from the get-go, and you can also turn off messages altogether.

privacy and security

There are options to let others know which videos you like, set comment filters, and allow downloads of your videos. Offensive and spammy comments are automatically filtered, though there is a button to disable the feature. You can also filter comments based on specific keywords.

Both of these features are quite useful for your child’s TikTok account, and if you use the platform for marketing and promotion.

Other Things You Can Report

Safety features out of the way; you should know that there is also an option to block or report individual comments, videos, as well as chat messages.

To report a comment, tap the chatbox on the right in the video preview window. Swipe the comments and tap and hold the one you’d like to report. When a pop-up window appears, you hit “Report,” and explain the reasons. If you want to report the video itself, tap the arrow icon at the bottom right of the screen and choose “Report.”

Reporting individual chat messages is similar to blocking/reporting users. Once you’re inside the chat, hit the three horizontal dots, and choose Report or Block. And if the user’s really rude, don’t hesitate to do both.

Final TikTok Block

Without a doubt, social networks like TikTok are here to stay, and there will always be people who will look for ways to abuse them. Therefore, it’s essential to be smart about using the platform and try to keep things as private and as fun as possible.

Who’s bothering you on TikTok? Have you already blocked them? Share your experience with the rest of the TechJunkie community in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.