- Tech Junkie - https://www.techjunkie.com -

How to Cancel Your Tinder Plus Subscription

Tinder has become one of the most popular dating services online, with more than 50 million regular users and more than 20 billion matches as of August 2018. With so many people matching, relationships that started on Tinder have become commonplace, even the norm.

Meeting people on Tinder is easy, and the emphasis on matching and having a conversation online before deciding to meet in the real world makes the app a comfortable and safe place for many Tinder users.

It is no surprise that so many people have chosen to upgrade to the premium version of the service, Tinder Plus.

Unlike many other social apps, Tinder offers a “Plus” subscription model, which grants access to a bunch of new features. The Rewind feature is a popular favorite, as it allows you to rewind your previous swipe—whether right or left—to correct a mistake and change your answer for that person.

Tinder Plus users also gain access to “Passport,” which allows them to preview and match with people in other locations, such as before a vacation or business trip, before even getting on the plane. Probably the most-used feature of Tinder Plus, of course, is the unlimited right swipes, along with the ad-free experience, and the granting of five “super likes” per day to use on other users.

However, you may find that for your needs Tinder Plus is not worth the cost or your budget is tigher now and you’re trying to save money. Perhaps you’ve found yourself in a relationship and don’t need Tinder’s help anymore. Or, maybe you just don’t enjoy the premium features as much as you expected you would; there’s no shame in that.

The Tinder Plus service costs users $9.99 a month, or about $120 per year, just for access to a few of Tinder’s premium features!

Even if Tinder Plus was working well for you, if you find that special someone then presumably you’re going to want to turn your subscription off altogether.

If you forget to turn off your Tinder subscription, deleting Tinder from all your devices, and the person you are in a new relationship with finds out you are still on Tinder, then that person is very likely to be angry with you, possibly even leading to the ending of the relationship.

Will deleting tinder account stop payment?

Deleting your Tinder account will not cancel Tinder Plus. You can delete Tinder without canceling Tinder Plus and, conversely, you can cancel Tinder Plus without deleting Tinder. Deleting your Tinder account and canceling Tinder Plus are two different processes.

Unfortunately, Tinder doesn’t make it immediately clear how to cancel your Plus subscription, leaving some users paying for a service they no longer need, want, or use, sometimes for months without even realizing it.

However, it’s easy to cancel Tinder Plus on Android and iOS, as long as you know what you’re doing and where to go. In-app subscriptions like Tinder Plus are handled directly through either Google or Apple, making it fast and simple to cancel the service on either platform.

So if you’ve decided to put Tinder Plus in the rear-view mirror, let’s take a look at how to cancel your subscription. Keep in mind that what you’re really doing is canceling the “renewal” of Tinder Plus, rather than canceling it immediately. That is, when you cancel Tinder Plus, you are setting it to not renew next time it’s up for renewal.

How to Cancel Tinder Plus on Android

If you’re an Android user, canceling your Tinder Plus subscription is handled just like any other subscription service within Google Play.

Because Android uses the Google Play Store to keep track of every app subscription on your phone or tablet, all you have to do is open the Play Store. Let’s take a look at how to cancel Tinder Plus for Android:

Start by opening up the Play Store, either by using the shortcut on your home screen or by using the application link inside your app drawer. From here, tap the triple-lined menu item in the top-right corner of your screen to open the Google Play menu. Tap “Account”—you’ll find it near the bottom of this list.

From here, you’ll want to tap “Subscriptions,” which will load a list of every subscription connected to your Google Play account. Depending on how many recurring subscriptions you have in your account, this page might be populated with dozens of apps, or maybe just a couple.

Regardless, scroll through the list until you find where Tinder is listed, and tap the selection. You’ll be given two different selections: cancel and update. Update allows you to change your credit card payment method (you can use your Play balance, your Google Wallet balance, credit and debit cards, and Paypal), but for the purposes of this tutorial, we’re looking for the Cancel” option.

Tap cancel, then tap confirm on the pop-up message.

Alternatively, you can also simply search the Play Store for Tinder, find the app in your listings, go to the app’s page, tap “Manage Subscriptions,” and then tap “Cancel.” Both methods will accomplish the same goal, and neither one takes particularly long.

You can also cancel your subscription from any computer your Google account is signed into, using the same methods outlined above but on Google Play’s own website. Start by heading over to the Google Play website [1] then tap “Account” on the side menu bar. Scroll down this list until you get to “Subscriptions,” where you’ll see Tinder Plus listed.

Tap the “Cancel subscription” button, then confirm your selection.

Your Tinder Plus account will continue to be active until the end of the current billing cycle when your account will return to a “Tinder Free” mode.

So don’t fret if your account doesn’t immediately revert to the free version; that’s normal. You can resubscribe to Tinder Plus at any time if you choose to return to the service.

How to Cancel Tinder Plus on iOS (iPhone and iPad)

Just as Android has multiple options for canceling your Tinder Plus subscription, so does iOS and the App Store. Whether you want to cancel your account from your iPhone or iPad, or from your desktop computer running iTunes, it’s easy to cancel your subscription in just a few easy steps.

Open up the App Store from your home screen and scroll all the way to the bottom of the apps page. Here, you’ll find a few different options for settings and account information.

Tap on your Apple ID, tap “View Apple ID,” and sign in with your password to view your information. Scroll through your account information until you reach the Subscriptions list and select “Manage.”

From your list of actively-subscribed apps, tap on Tinder from the list and select “Unsubscribe,” or set the slider in iOS for “Auto-Renewal” to the off position.

The subscriptions list in the App Store should display the end date for your subscription on your screen if you’ve chosen to end your subscription to Tinder Plus previously.

You can end your service with Tinder Plus through iTunes on any computer as well, so long as your account is signed into iTunes. To start, open iTunes on your Mac or Windows computer and tap “Account” from the menu bar on Mac or the top of the application on Windows.

iTunes account

From here, sign in to your Apple account to continue when prompted.

On your account page, just like we covered above with the iOS App Store, you’ll find an option for your account settings. Under this headline, you’ll see a list of your current subscriptions.

Select this list by pressing “Manage” at the bottom of your screen. Find the Tinder Plus listing, tap “Unsubscribe,” and then confirm your selection.

iTunes manage settings

As with the Android version, your Tinder Plus membership will run until the billing period ends.

***

With Tinder Plus disabled on your phone, you can return to a standard Tinder experience without having to worry about the monthly fee. The options are tucked away pretty neatly, but once you know where to find them, it’s a quick and easy process to go through.

If you decide you miss the features offered by Tinder Plus—like Rewind, Passport, and a few extra super likes—you can reactivate your subscription at any time through the app itself, so if you change your mind and want to return to the ‘Plus’ world, reactivating your account is easy.

Can You Cancel Tinder Plus 12 Month?

Just remember that you can not get your money back through a refund if things don’t work out, though you can cancel, meaning that your Tinder Plus account will not renew when your billing cycle is up. You’re stopping automatic renewal rather than the instantaneous cancelation of your Tinder Plus account.

If you enjoyed this article, you might like other TechJunkie articles including these:

Do you have any tips and tricks for canceling Tinder Plus or Tinder Gold? If so, please let us know in the comments below.