How To Clear & Delete All Facebook Posts Without Deleting Account

Thanks to a number of controversies over the last few years, more and more Facebook users are choosing to disconnect from the incredibly popular social media network. It’s now nearly impossible to use the platform without wondering what information Facebook has on you and what they’re doing with that information.

Whether you’re concerned about how Facebook protects your privacy or you’re worried about Facebook’s role in spreading disinformation in regard to political elections, there are plenty of reasons you might want to leave Facebook behind.

Like many other users, there’s a good chance you’ve shared some things on Facebook that you now wish you hadn’t. If you’re not ready to delete your account altogether, deleting all of your past Facebook posts is a great way to ease your privacy concerns without committing to life without social media.

So, if you’re ready to wipe your social media slate clean and start fresh, let’s take a look at how you can easily delete all of your Facebook posts in just a few steps.

How to Save Facebook Posts

Hold your horses. Before you start tearing through that post history, there might actually be a few fond memories in there that you’d like to keep track of. Thankfully, Facebook makes it easy to package up and download all of your data. You just have to know where to look.

Click on the Account Settings icon in the upper right corner of your Facebook home page.

Click the Settings option in the drop-down menu.

Click on Your Facebook Information in the menu on the left-hand side.

Click Download Your Information.

Choose a date range (or “all of my data”), format, and media quality. Then, click Create File.

Facebook will gift-wrap a neat little file for you filled with all your Facebook info. Now you can delete away from the website without worrying that you might be losing something important.

After completing these steps, Facebook will give you a file containing all of your data that has been collected over the years. Now, you can delete all of your past posts without worrying about losing any of your precious memories.

Side Note: Other sites, like Google, Snapchat, and Twitter, also offer the option to download your data. So, if you want to see what data other social media channels have collected, you can do so by following similar steps.

How to Delete Facebook Posts

Ready to scrub your Facebook history clean?

Let’s start with the basics. If you’re only concerned about a handful of posts, then you should just delete them manually. Go directly to the post and complete the following steps:

Click the options icon in the upper right corner of the post and click Delete.

Click Delete again to confirm.

Repeat these steps for every post you want to remove. Assuming you only want to get rid of a small number of posts, this is a much easier option and will preserve the rest of your Facebook content.

Remember that you can’t get these posts back. Once they’ve been deleted from Facebook, they’re gone for good (unless you downloaded them first). So, be mindful of what you delete.

Filtering Facebook Posts

So, maybe you want to delete all of your posts from a certain month or year. The easiest way to do this is by filtering your Facebook posts. You can do this by:

iPhone

Visit your Profile page and click on the three dots next to the blue “Add to Your Story” button

Tap on Activity Log if you’re using an iPhone

Click ‘Manage Activity’ at the top.

Click ‘Your Posts’ then ‘Filters’ to filter by date range.

Tap the box next to the post and click the trash can icon.

Confirm when the pop-up appears.

Android

Of course Android makes this a little easier:

Visit your Profile and click on the three dots next to the blue ‘Add to Your Story’ button

Scroll down to ‘Manage Posts’

Tap ‘Filter’ at the top

Filter by date range

Tap each post you’d like to delete so that the bubbles highlight

Tap the trash can icon at the bottom center of the screen

Confirm

Browser

Mass deleting posts from a browser without an extension will work too. This gives you the option to select which posts you’d like to delete.

  1. Click on your name in the upper right-hand corner to visit your profile
  2. Scroll down slightly until you see the menu option appear in the left-hand corner of your screen
  3. Filter by Month, Date, and Year
  4. Tap on the three dots next to each post
  5. Click ‘Delete’
  6. Confirm

Although this step allows you to delete individual posts, if there aren’t too many or you’d like to sort through the content, this is an option that will work.

Use an Extension for Mass Deletion

Deleting posts manually might be fine if you’re only concerned about a few, but it’ll take you forever to go through your entire post history this way.

Unfortunately, Facebook doesn’t provide a method for mass deleting your history (unless you delete your account entirely). But there are some browser extensions, like News Feed Eradicator for Facebook or Social Book Post Manager, that can help you do exactly that.

We’ll use Social Book Post Manager as an example. Here’s how to get it.

Note: Some users have reported that Social Book isn’t working for them, however, based on our tests it is still functioning. If you have trouble with one, try the other. The process is nearly identical.

Locate the extension at the Chrome Web Store.

Click Add to Chrome.

Click Add Extension.

This will add the extension to your browser so that you can start deleting your posts. Once you have it installed, it’s time to get started.

Go to Facebook and do this:

Click on the Account Settings icon and click Activity Log.

Click on the Social Book Post Manager extension icon in the top right corner of your browser.

Set parameters for what you want to delete. 

Check whether or not you want to review the results before you hit delete.

Decide how quickly you want it to move through your posts. Click Delete.

After hitting delete, check to make sure that the app is deleting all of your posts. In some cases, choosing a high-speed setting can cause the extension to skip over some posts. f you notice that the app is missing posts, then you might want to try again at a lower speed.

In the meantime, take a moment and be sure that you want these posts deleted. Once they are gone from Facebook, they’re gone for good.

Can I bulk delete posts on Facebook?

You can either use the browser extension listed above or you can use the activity manager to highlight and remove all of your posts. There is currently no option to delete all of your Facebook posts at one time without deleting your account and starting a new one.

Can I delete my account and start a new one?

Yes. But, unless you permanently delete your Facebook account where the company no longer recognizes your phone number or email address, you’ll need a new one of each.

Assuming you already have a new phone number and email address, you’re good to go. If you don’t, Facebook will want to reactivate your old account (at least for the first 90 days).

Can I delete all of my Facebook comments?

You can either delete the posts, delete the individual comments, or use a browser extension to help remove all comments on your Facebook page. There’s no mass-delete option for this so it isn’t the easiest thing to do.

One thought on “How To Clear & Delete All Facebook Posts Without Deleting Account”

Avatar Andrew says:
Does not work with new FB layout

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights