How to Delete Your Kik Account [February 2021]
Kik is a free messaging service that makes it easy to stay connected with your friends and family.
If you’ve decided to delete your Kik account, it’s important to note that, even if you cancel your Kik account, it isn’t shut down for good. This is just a temporary deactivation that allows you to re-open your account if you so choose.
However, if you want to permanently delete your account and information, you’ll have to take a few extra steps.
Follow along to learn how to permanently delete your Kik account and personal information.
How to Permanently Delete Your Kik Account
- How to Permanently Delete Your Kik Account
- Temporarily Deactivate Your Kik Account
- What Happens When You Delete Your Account?
- Frequently Asked Questions
If you permanently delete your Kik account, you will lose access to all your chat data, friend details, and username. You will not be able to register later using the same username once you delete your account. So, before following these steps, be sure to transfer any information or account details that you don’t want to lose forever.
Once you decide to delete your Kik account for good, follow these steps to do so:
1. Visit the Kik Delete Page from a web browser.
2. Type in the username and email information.
3. Check your email and click ‘Permanently Delete’ at the bottom.
How to Delete Your Child’s Kik Account
As a parent, you want your child to enjoy the benefits of the internet without the pitfalls.
If you want to stop your child from using Kik, you can also request that their account be deactivated. You will need to know the email address your child uses to make this work, though.
- Email [email protected] with the subject line ‘‘Parent Inquiry.”
- List your child’s Kik username and their age.
- Kik’s customer services will contact you with a form to fill out.
- Complete the form and submit it to delete the account.
To find out the username, open the Kik app on their device, and tap the cog icon in the upper right-hand corner. Next, tap ‘Settings,’ and you will see their Display Name at the top. Their usernames will be directly underneath.
How to Delete a Kik Account Without Email
If you need to delete your Kik account but no longer have access to the email address on file contact Kik support.
If you’ve forgotten the email account and the username you will not have access to Kik and therefore you will be unable to delete the account.
Can I Get my Kik Back Once it’s Deleted?
No, once you delete your Kik account, it is permanently deleted and can’t be reinstated. Not only that, but your username can’t be used again either. You’ll have to make a new account with a different username and e-mail address. There isn’t any known way of getting your contacts back either.
Temporarily Deactivate Your Kik Account
To deactivate your Kik account for a short time you can visit the Kik Account Page. Unfortunately, you won’t be able to do this through the app.
Start by typing in your username and email address, then click “Go.”
Check your email and follow the link that Kik sends you.
Click “Deactivate” as shown in the screenshot above.
By deactivating your account you can go to the Kik account page and restore all content that was previously there.
What Happens When You Delete Your Account?
When you’ve completed the steps listed above your account will no longer be available. This means your account will no longer be found by the username or the email address.
Your conversation history will still appear on the accounts of people who you’ve messaged previously if you temporarily deactivate your account. Even though you close your account it will not delete content on the other user’s end.
When you permanently deactivate your account it may take a few days for all traces of it to disappear. People who you’ve interacted with in the past may still be able to access your profile and conversations for a short while.
Frequently Asked Questions
Here are our answers to some of the other common questions we get regarding using Kik.
What can I do if someone is harassing me on Kik?
You can block or report another user by visiting their account page. If the other person is using abusive language, spamming, or otherwise violating TikTok’s terms of service send a report.
Reports on Kik are anonymous and the other user will never know who sent the alert. It is a good idea to take screenshots of the messages and content just in case Kik’s support team wants more information or proof.
Does Kik notify me if someone takes a screenshot?
Unfortunately, unlike Snapchat and other messaging services, Kik does not tell you if someone takes a screenshot. Even with screenshot notifications you can’t get an image back once someone captures it. It’s for that reason you should be weary of sending any images you don’t want shared to any person online.
Is Kik safe to use for teens?
As with any networking site, there are risks with Kik. Many users and watchdog websites advise against using Kik for younger audiences. Kik allows users to communicate with unknown individuals all over the world.
What happens to my username when I delete my account?
When you permanently delete your Kik account, your username is also permanently deleted. Of course, another user could eventually sign up with your username, but as far as your account is concerned the username will disappear from all of your contacts’ view.
Have any other comments, questions, or tips regarding Kik? Let us know in the comments below!