How to Delete a Story on Facebook

By design, Facebook stories are ephemeral, they self-destruct after twenty-four hours of attracting likes, comments, and views. But what if you want to remove the story before the algorithm automatically takes it to digital oblivion?

The action is super simple and intuitive, plus you get to do it as soon as the story is online, thus preventing potential embarrassment. This write-up will give you a tried and tested method to get rid of the story. And there are also other tips on how to use this disappearing feature.

Deleting a Facebook Story

This quick guide assumes that you’ve already logged into your Facebook account on a desktop or the mobile app. Speaking of which, the action is the same on computers and mobile devices. So there’s no need to include additional steps.

Note: When using Facebook on your desktop, the story might not appear right away in your Feed. If this happens, click on “See All” and select your user name. There’s also a notification that you have one active Story.

Step 1

Once your Story is online, click or tap on it, and select the three horizontal dots in the upper right corner of the screen.

Facebook How to Delete a Story

This action reveals a More menu and you need to choose “Delete video” to remove the Story from the Feed. If you’ve used an image, the option will state “Delete photo”.

How to Delete Story Facebook

Step 2

After you click or tap the designated option, there’s nothing else to do, you’ve successfully removed the Story. If there might be a pop-out window asking you to confirm your decision.

Anyway, the Story More menu offers another option beneath “Delete video/photo”. The “Something isn’t working” feature is there to help you troubleshoot the Story.

You’re required to briefly describe the issue and maybe include a screenshot of the problem. But this should only be used when there’s something seriously wrong with the system.

Delete a Story Facebook

For example, you can use this query if Facebook keeps failing to post your stories, both via desktop and the mobile app. The same goes if all Stories appear black or fail to play when loaded.

Otherwise, it’s much easier to delete the story and try to post it again. With this in mind, Facebook is very quick to respond to your query and you might get to the bottom of the problem in a matter of hours.

Deleting a Story Prior to Posting

There’s no reason or option to delete a story before you post it, Facebook doesn’t keep your story as a draft. If you’re not happy with how it turned out, use the editing menu to make it look better. Or you can just tap or click the arrow left button to exit to the main menu.

How to Extend the Lifecycle of a Story

Now that you know how to permanently delete a Story, it’s time to take a look at how to keep it for longer than twenty-four hours. But there is one thing you should know.

When you enable Facebook Story Archive, all your stories end up there. There’s no way to program the social network to automatically keep some Stories and ditch others. And if you decide you no longer need the Archive, all the saved Stories will be deleted.

Again, the same steps apply to desktop Facebook and the mobile app, so there’s no need for separate guides.

Step 1

If on the mobile app, tap your profile picture and select three horizontal dots next to “Add Story”. Desktop users should choose their user name and click on Archive under the cover photo.

Delete Story Facebook

Step 2

Click on the gear icon to access Settings and click on “Turn On Story Archive”. On a mobile device, select “Your Story Archive”, hit three horizontal dots, and then the gear icon. Then, you can turn on the Archive.

The cool thing about this feature is that it also keeps all the reactions and comments on your Stories.

Deleting an Archived Story

This action is similar to deleting active stories. But this time you’re accessing the Archive instead of the Story feed.

So hit the three dots to enter the More menu and choose Story Archive. To remind you on a desktop it’s just Archive. Now, choose the Story you’d like to remove and hit the three horizontal dots again.

Select “Delete video/photo” from the drop-down menu and confirm your choice in the pop-up window. That’s it, the Archived story is gone.

Overall, the menus to manage stories are very good and intuitive. The only thing that could be better is to pick and choose which stories to archive. Something like an option to save only the stories that have the most reactions or comments.

What Does the Story Tell You?

Aside from the described features, you can also filter the users who are allowed to see your Story. Before you post, there’s a Privacy button to zero in on the people who’ll appreciate your post. Beware if you choose Public, anybody with Messenger or Facebook will be able to see it.

How often do you post Stories on Facebook? Are your Facebook stories different from the ones you post on Instagram? Share your preferences in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights