How To Delete a Video in Marco Polo

Marco Polo is basically Skype meets chat. In other words, you send messages to your friends in video form, and they respond in kind.

But as with any chat, sometimes you send a message that you wish you hadn’t. Marco Polo understands and allows users to delete video messages that they’ve sent through the app. So next time you send an embarrassing Polo to your crush, remember that a few simple steps can help you unring that bell.

Delete a Video You’ve Sent

Step 1

Go to the conversation that contains the video, or Polo, that you want to delete.

Step 2

Find the Polo thumbnail in the list of videos at the bottom. Tap and hold that thumbnail.

Step 3

Tap Delete this Polo.                                                                   

Step 4

Tap Confirm Delete.                                         

This will delete the Polo from both sides of the conversation. In other words, you won’t be able to see it anymore and neither will your friend.

Delete a Video You’ve Received

Go through basically the same steps as above to remove a Polo sent to you by another person. The only real difference here is that instead of seeing the word “delete,” you’ll see the word “remove.” This is because you can’t completely delete a Polo sent by another person. You can remove it on your phone, but it will remain on theirs.

Save a Video Before Deleting It

Maybe you want to delete a Polo before the recipient sees it, but you’re afraid that you’ll regret it. There are ways to save these messages before deleting them. How you go about this depends on whether you’re using an iPhone or an Android.

Keep in mind that you may not be able to save a Marco Polo video that another user has sent if they have their settings for this feature turned off.

Android:

Android makes it easy with a simple “Save Video” option when you tap and hold on a Polo. Simply follow the steps for deleting your own Polo and select Save Video instead. Then go back and delete it if you still want to.

iPhone:

Apple makes it a little tougher, but you can still do it. Tap and hold on your Polo just as you did above then do this:

Step 1

Tap Forward.                                                                  

Step 2

Tap More.                                                                   

Step 3

Tap Save Video.                                                            

Note that you can only save a video that you made. You can’t save any Polos that were sent to you by others. You can also use the Apple forwarding function to share your Polos with friends via your iPhone or post them to social media.

Delete the Entire Chat

Maybe you’re not just worried about one Polo. Maybe your entire video history with a certain friend is a giant cringe-fest.

Step 1

Click on the three vertical dots next to the Chat you’d like to delete.

Step 2

Tap Block / Delete Chat.

Step 3

Select Delete Chat in the pop-up.

This will not remove the Polos for both of you. Your friend will still have access to the entire conversation. The only way to prevent them from seeing Polos that you’ve sent is to remove them individually.

Tell Who Has Seen Your Video

If your motivation in reading this article is that you sent a Polo that you really don’t want the recipient to see, then act fast. Once they see it, there’s no deleting it from their memory.

You can tell if someone has viewed the Polo by opening the conversation and looking for the Polo in question. If you see a small circle icon in the corner of the Polo with their profile photo inside, then they’ve seen it. If not, then you still have time.

Act fast!

But as with any chat, sometimes you send a message that you wish you hadn’t. Marco Polo understands and allows users to delete video messages that they’ve sent through the app. So next time you send an embarrassing Polo to your crush, remember that a few simple steps can help you unring that bell.

What happens when I delete a Polo?

If you delete your own Polo it will disappear on your end and the recipients’ end. However, deleting a Polo that someone sent you will only delete that polo in your chat history.

How long are Marco Polo videos available?

Marco Polo videos will last as long as the user is active and doesn’t manually delete them as shown above. If a user is inactive for more than one year the videos will automatically be deleted. Users with a free subscription are subject to video archives after 30 days, meaning your videos can be found in the archive folder. Those who pay for a subscription will not be archived.

Can I retrieve a deleted video?

No, not unless you saved the video or it has been archived.

Can I block another user on Marco Polo?

Yes, you can block another user on Marco Polo so that they can no longer contact you. If you delete another user they will still have access to all of your messages and videos if you do not delete those first.

One thought on “How To Delete a Video in Marco Polo”

Avatar Carol Sue says:
Can I retrieve my own Marco Polo chat video if I accidentally deleted it?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.