Does Facebook Notify the Poster if I Remove a Tag?

Does Facebook notify another user if I tag someone in an image? Does Facebook notify the other user if I remove a tag? Can I remove a tag from someone else’s image that I have been tagged in? What is the point of tags anyway? If you remove a tag, what does your profile look like to your friends?

Tagging has been a feature on Facebook for years. Some people like it and some people don’t. It’s a feature some people don’t even know exist while others use it incessantly. What is all the fuss about?

Tagging is basically attaching a link to someone in an image or video. You can also tag posts and comments but that works slightly differently. Facebook recognizes faces in media and allows a ‘special link’ between each face. So if you have a group shot, for example, Facebook will recognize multiple faces, add a layer to the image and allow you to link each individual’s personal Facebook page. It’s a neat idea but has obvious privacy implications.

If the individuals you tag on Facebook have a public account, the image will also appear on their news feed so they can see the image too.

How to tag someone on Facebook

Tagging someone in a Facebook image is very straightforward.

  1. Open the photo on Facebook.
  2. Hover over it and select Tag Photo from the hover menu.
  3. Select the person in the image you want to tag. You should see a box appear.
  4. Add their name or Page.
  5. Repeat as necessary.
  6. Select Done Tagging when finished.
  7. Publish the photo as usual.

You can also tag comments or posts on Facebook. Just use ‘@NAME’ within the post or comment. Use the person’s full name as it appears on Facebook for a successful tag. If it’s a popular name a list will appear. Just select the right person from the list to tag them.

You can also tag someone in the app version of Facebook.

  1. Open Facebook on your mobile device
  2. Tap on the photo you’d like to tag someone in – If it’s a post with multiple photos you may have to tap on the image twice.
  3. Tap the ‘Tag’ button in the upper right-hand corner – this looks similar to a price tag
  4. Tap anywhere on the image or the image of the person you’re trying to tag
  5. A list will appear of suggestions, tap on the other users’ name or type their name in the search bar

Upon doing this, the other user will receive a notification that they’ve been tagged.

Does Facebook notify if you tag someone in an image?

Yes. When you’re tagged in an image, you will receive a notification and the image will show up in your timeline. You can then decide whether to leave the tag in place or remove it.

There is an option in Facebook settings called Timeline and Tagging where you can control who can tag you and whether you’re notified and can review images before they appear on your own timeline. If you’re interested in tagging, it might be worth checking out the settings.

Facebook notifies if you’re tagged in a post or comment too. The post will appear in your timeline for you to review if you have it set up.

Does Facebook notify if I remove a tag?

No. Facebook notifies everyone who appears in a tag as per above but doesn’t notify if a tag is removed. Adding a tag has privacy implications, removing a tag does not, so no notification is necessary.

Bear in mind, if the other user tries to tag you again they will receive a message that states “Cannot Add Tag.” More tech-savvy users may understand that this happens because you’ve untagged yourself, while others may have questions for you.

Can you remove a tag from an image you have been tagged in?

Yes, you can. You have no control over what other people do with their own images but you have a little control over links. If you don’t want to be tagged in an image, you can remove it. As you are notified of the tag and the image will appear on your timeline, you can remove the tag from there.

  1. Select the image on your timeline.
  2. Select Options at the bottom of the image.
  3. Select Report/Remove tag.
  4. Select I want to remove the tag.

All tags relating to you will be removed from the image. That is true for the copy on your timeline and all copies of that image on Facebook.

To remove a tag from a post or comment, the process is similar.

  1. Navigate to the post in question.
  2. Select the three-dot menu icon in the top right.
  3. Select Remove Tag.

The tag will be removed immediately and you can go about your business.

FAQs

If I block someone will the tags still be there?

Technically no. Their name may still appear on the post or photo but it will not have the hyperlink that allows you to click on their profile.

If I unfriend someone will the tags still be there?

Based on experience, yes. If you unfriend someone the tag will still exist.

What can I do if someone tags me in something inappropriate or spam?

You can click on the three-dot symbol and click to “Report Post.” Facebook may take some time to get around to removing the post so in the meantime follow the instructions above to untag yourself.

How can I stop someone from tagging me?

Unfortunately, the only way to stop just one person from tagging you in things is to block that person. Otherwise, you can use the timeline and tagging settings to approve posts you’re tagged in before any of your friends can see them.

If I remove a tag, will the picture still there?

Yes, even if you remove a tag the photo is still visible on the original posters’ timeline. Friends who are not mutual contacts between the two users will not see those pictures.

What’s the point of tags anyway?

Tagging is a way of sharing a moment or an event.  It’s a way to include people in your life with images, posts, and comments. For most people, being tagged is harmless and freely used throughout Facebook. Some people value their privacy and don’t like tags as it makes them easy to find and can result in less than flattering photos being posted to your wall.

When tagging, it makes sense to bear in mind WHO you’re tagging. Someone who is more privacy-conscious won’t always appreciate being tagged as it spreads links to their profile all over Facebook. It’s always a good idea to ask someone if it’s alright to tag them before doing so.

 

One thought on “Does Facebook Notify the Poster if I Remove a Tag?”

Avatar alisa says:
Years ago i posted a photo of my ex and I and tagged him on the photo. Just recently – i removed the tag from the photo. And right away he knew that the tag was removed – did he get a notification? How is it possible then?
Avatar Nash says:
Gee.. I was about to do the same but was curious about the process, and i do not want my ex to get notified :/ .
Avatar Sandy says:
I would think it would mean he was checking out you out on Facebook? If so, it seems like he’d have to do a lot of searching to see it wasn’t there. Not sure about that, though.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.