TechJunkie is a BOX20 Media Company

Home Social Media Twitter How to Delete Your Twitter Account Permanently [December 2020]

How to Delete Your Twitter Account Permanently [December 2020]

How to Delete Your Twitter Account Permanently [December 2020]

Twitter is a great social media platform, but it’s not for everybody. Perhaps you gave it a go and decided it’s just not your thing.

So, how do you delete a Twitter account that you’re not using?

Unfortunately, a Twitter account can’t be deleted as soon as you decide you want to delete it. You first have to deactivate your account, after which, you can log back into it for 30 days to recover your account and all of its information. After that, Twitter will delete all of your data from the website, and it’ll be like your account never existed. If you want to download that data before you delete your account, Here’s how:

How to download your data from twitter

  1. Select More from the menu on the left of the screen.
  2. Choose Settings and Privacy.
  3. Click on Your account.
  4. You’ll see, among the list of options, Download an archive of your data. Select that one.
  5. It will ask you for your password.
  6. Once you’ve entered your password, it will give you two options. Choose Request archive.

Once you’ve hit the request button, there won’t be any apparent changes on your screen other than the button will now say Requesting archive.

It can take a day or two for your request to be accepted but you will receive an email or notification when it is ready for download.

Then all you’ll need to do is go back to that place in the site or app or click the link provided in the email and press Download Archive.

With that in mind, here’s how you can permanently delete your Twitter account.

How to Permanently Delete Your Twitter Account

If you want to delete your Twitter account permanently, you can do so on either a desktop computer, iPhone, or Android. We’ll show you how to delete your account on all three.

Let’s get started.

Delete Twitter on Desktop

To delete your account via desktop, go to the Twitter website in your browser and log in.

  1. Select More on the left side of the screen.
  2. Choose Settings and Privacy.
  3. Click on Your account.
  4. On this page you should see the option to Deactivate your account. Go ahead and select it.
  5. Twitter will ask you if you are ready to deactivate your account and tell you what will happens when you confirm your decision. If everything looks good to you, select Deactivate.

That’s all there is to it. After a 30-day waiting period, your account will be permanently deleted. If you change your mind, you can always log back into your account before this 30-day period ends, and your account will be restored.

Delete Twitter on iPhone

Deleting your account for Twitter on the iPhone app is pretty similar to how it is on a desktop computer. First, open the Twitter app and make sure that you are logged in to the right account.

  1. Tap on the Hamburger icon in the top-left corner.
  2. From the menu that pops up, choose Settings and Privacy.
  3. Next choose Account from the top of the screen.
  4. Near the bottom of your Account settings, you should see Deactivate your account option. Once again, give it a tap.
  5. Twitter is going to confirm that you want to deactivate your account and provide you with information on what’s going to happen next. So long as you’re happy with everything you see, you can go ahead and select Deactivate.

Delete Twitter on Android

Deleting Twitter on Android is essentially the same as doing so on an iPhone. The icons will be a little different, but otherwise, the steps are the same.

By following these steps, you can quickly and easily get rid of your Twitter account for good on any device.

Final Thoughts

Twitter can be a great social media platform for connecting with people and sharing things with your followers, but it’s not for everyone. So, if you’ve fully decided this Twitter account needs to be banished and never seen again, just give it thirty days and it’ll be gone forever.

If you change your mind, you can always log back into your account before this time period is up, and of course, you can always open another new Twitter account down the line.

If you found this article helpful, make sure to read some of our other posts related to Twitter, such as How to Delete ALL Your Tweets.

The Best Free Music Apps for Android [January 2021]

Read Next 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Heather

Jul 6, 2021

93 Articles Published

More