Snapchat does not make it easy to tell if someone has blocked or unfollowed you. When that happens, you won’t receive a notification, and you can’t ask the Snapchat team whether it has happened. (Well, you can ask, but they won’t tell you.)
However, if you have a bit of time and energy and can apply some ingenuity, there are several different strategies you can use to discover whether someone has unfollowed or blocked you.
In this article, I will go over those strategies and show you how to figure this out.
How to Tell If Someone Deleted You on Snapchat
- How to Tell If Someone Deleted You on Snapchat 
- What If I Don’t Follow Them? 
- How to Tell if Someone Blocked You on Snapchat 
- How to Tell if Someone Is Still Following Me After I Unfriend Them 
- How to Tell if Someone is Online 
- Frequently Asked Questions 
There are two methods that you can use to find out if someone deleted you on Snapchat. I’ll go over both of them below.
One way you will be able to tell if someone has unfollowed you is by keeping tabs on your followers’ list, and checking it to see if someone has disappeared.
For example, let’s say you know that a particular person was following you at some point. If you are following them too, they should be on your friends’ list. Here’s how to double-check:
- Swipe right from the camera screen to the friends’ screen.
- Tap in the Search bar, and type in the name of the user you are looking for.
- Wait until their name pops up.
When it does, you will see their name, their Snapchat username, and their snap score. You can only see the snap scores of people you follow who follow you back. If the score is there, then the person has not unfollowed you. If it isn’t… then it looks like they have hit the fatal “Remove Friend” button.
The status of the snaps you send is also a way to tell if someone has left you high and dry. If they don’t follow you, and you send them a snap message, it will go… nowhere. Here’s how to find out:
- From the home screen, tap the chat bubble icon at the bottom left corner.
- Double-tap on the username you want to test.
- Tap the circle icon to take a picture.
- Tap the send arrow to send the message.
- Check on the snap status below the person’s username on the Chat screen. If it reads “Pending…” and never shows delivered, or if the arrow next to their username appears gray, the user may have deleted you from their friend list.
What If I Don’t Follow Them?
If you don’t follow the person, then you wouldn’t see their snap score anyway, so that little trick won’t work. Unfortunately, there really isn’t a good way to tell if someone is or isn’t following you aside from that.
Another approach is to look at the people who have viewed your stories.
- Add a photo to your story.
- Click the Bitmoji, which will now be a preview of your story.
- Tap the image in the list to view it.
- Tap the eye icon in the lower left-hand corner.
You can see the names of everyone who viewed that snap. To see a list of names who viewed your story you can tap the eye icon. Granted, not every person who follows you will look at absolutely everything you send, but if someone is conspicuously missing, that’s a sign they might have said goodbye.
How to Tell if Someone Blocked You on Snapchat
Figuring out if someone has blocked you on Snapchat is actually pretty easy to confirm, though you will still have to do a little digging.
If they were friends of yours on Snapchat at one point, then check “My Friends.” If they are still listed but you can no longer see their snap score, then they unfollowed you. If you can’t see them at all, then they have blocked you (or deleted their account and quit Snapchat).
If they weren’t your Snapchat friend, then you can check by searching for them. If you have been blocked, you should not be able to find them or add them, even if you know their username. You also will not be able to send them a private message.
How to Tell if Someone Is Still Following Me After I Unfriend Them
There are two ways to do this, but each of them has problems. Naturally, a relatively sneaky plan isn’t going to be completely perfect!
Method 1 – Check Your Story
The problem with this method is that it is passive; you have to wait for your person of interest to actually check your story. If they never do, you’ll never know if they’re still following you. On the plus side, it’s pretty easy to post a story that entertains the rest of the people who still do follow you.
- Create a story and add a snap.
- Wait and let people visit the story.
- Open your profile page and find the story under “Stories”.
- Beneath the story name, there will be a number and an eye icon; this is how many people have viewed the story.
- Tap the icon and a list of the people who have looked at your story will pop up. If your person of interest is there, you know they are still following you.
Method 2 – Add as a Friend
This method has the advantage of letting you check your person of interest’s status at any time, but the downside is that they will see from their history that you friended them and will be fully aware of your presence.
- Add the person of interest as a friend.
- Tap and hold on their name in the friends’ list.
- Tap Show Friendship.
- If their Snap score appears beneath their username in their profile, then they are following you.
- Tap the three-dot icon in the upper right of the screen.
- Tap Remove Friend to take them back off your friends’ list. Remember! There is no notification for removes, so as far as they know, you showed up to stay.
How to Tell if Someone is Online
Unlike many social media apps, Snapchat does not provide status indicators to tell you if another user is currently using the app. However, there are a couple of reliable ways to find out for yourself.
- Open the SnapMap by down-swiping on the Camera screen. (Note: you will have to activate your SnapMap for this to work.)
- Find your friend’s Bitmoji and tap on it.
- A bubble will pop up above your friend’s Bitmoji and it will tell you exactly how long it has been since they were online. A lower number means it’s likely they’re still hanging around.
This one is a little bit sneakier and requires a little bit of action and some time, but it is also more reliable.
- Find your friend in your Friends list and long-press their name.
- Tap View Friendship.
- Make a note of their snap score.
- Wait a few minutes.
- Repeat 1-3.
- If the Snap score has changed, then your friend is online and sending and receiving snaps.
Frequently Asked Questions
We have some more answers to your questions here:
Does Snapchat send friend notifications?
You will receive a notification if someone adds you, but you won’t receive a notification for any other friend activity. If someone deletes or blocks you there’s no flashing red signs from Snapchat, only those we’ve mentioned above.
If someone deletes me can they still see my messages?
The answer to this question depends on their privacy settings. Assuming you were deleted and not blocked the other user may receive your message if their privacy settings are configured to allow messages from everyone.
If they only accept messages from those with who they are friends with then your message will not go through and they’ll never even know that you attempted to send one.
Snapchat has a lot to offer. Getting to know the app layout and numerous features can be daunting. Hopefully, we’ve helped you to understand how user interactions work. There are plenty of other tips, tricks, and little known features on Snapchat .