Everyone is on social media these days. Everyone and their mother, literally! In fact, asking for a phone number is slowly becoming an awkward thing – why would you when you can find someone to talk to on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and so on.
But what if you’ve grown sick of your Instagram? What if you no longer wish to waste hours upon hours scrolling through your feed? Is there a way to permanently get rid of one of the world’s biggest social media platforms? Of course there is. Here’s how to do it.
Permanently Deleting Your Account
So, you’ve finally decided – you want to permanently say goodbye to Instagram. Not a problem, this is entirely doable.
Oh, you can go ahead and close that mobile app. Yes, you can access it on a browser, but no one really does that, do they? You can find everything on the phone, plus the experience is much better. Well, as it turns out, you can’t find just everything on the phone/tablet app.
Go ahead, go to the account settings – there isn’t a ‘delete your account’ option.
This just means that you’re going to have to access your Instagram through a browser (whether on your computer, phone, or tablet).
Once you’ve logged into your account on the web, you can look around the Instagram website until you’ve found the permanent deletion option. They haven’t made it easy, though. So, your best bet would be to follow this link  – it will land you on the Delete Your Account page immediately.
First, select a reason for deleting your account. You can choose anything random, but you can also be truthful. It’s up to you. Then, enter your Instagram password into the field below.
Once you’re absolutely certain that you wish to proceed, press the red Permanently delete my account button and confirm. This will delete your Instagram account, along with all the likes, comments, photos, friends, and tags that you’ve ever made.
Should you decide to make a new Instagram profile, you will be able to use the same email address, but the username is not recoverable – you’ll have to think of another one.
Temporarily Disabling Your Account
If you aren’t 100% sure that you’ll never want to come back to Instagram, you could start by temporarily disabling your account. This will make it 100% recoverable. Still, all your photos, comments, and likes will become hidden, unless you decide to come back on Instagram. This is a neat alternative to permanent deletion, as it has the same results as far as your followers are concerned.
The account disable option is much easier to find than the one used for permanent deletion. First, log in to your Instagram profile on a browser. Then, navigate to your profile by selecting the icon representing your Instagram profile picture (upper-right corner of the screen).
This will get you to your own profile. Toward the top of the profile screen, you’ll see the Edit Profile function. Select it. At the bottom of the Edit Profile screen, you’ll see the Temporarily disable my account function. Select it.
Now, you’ll get to select the reason for disabling the account. Again, you can randomly choose a reason, or not. Then, you need to enter your Instagram password, select the blue Temporarily Disable Account button, and confirm.
Once disabled, to reactivate your account all you need to do is log in to it to activate it again. As simple as that!
If you’re disabling or deleting your Instagram account because of an individual or a group of individuals, you really don’t have to do it. You can easily block people and stop them from communicating with you. If you’re tired of seeing their content, you can just unfollow them.
To block someone on Instagram, first go to their profile. Once on their profile screen, go to the upper-right corner. You’ll see a three-dot icon. Tap it. A menu will pop up. Select the Block option and confirm. Even if you confirm, don’t worry as you can unblock the profile at any moment.
To unblock a person that you’ve blocked, go to their profile and you’ll see an Unblock option, right where you’d usually the Follow/Unfollow button.
But what does this mean? What happens when a person is blocked? First of all, the person in question won’t be notified. However, they won’t be able to access your profile either, as if you’ve deleted your account. So, blocking is a nice way to hide your account from some people.
Bear in mind that the blocked person will be able to find out. There is a way to check whether a user has disabled/deleted their profile or merely blocked you. If you try to tag a person who blocked you, you’ll be able to do it. If you try and tag a deleted/disabled profile, no suggestions will appear. Of course, even if they tag you, you won’t be notified.
A Great Alternative
If you want to cut the amount of time that you spend on the Instagram app, but don’t want to cut some of your followers off, just delete your Instagram app. You’ll still be able to use the browser to check your Instagram once per day or something.
Now, you can still do everything that the app can do, even the instant messaging feature.
Deleting Your Instagram Account
The option for deleting your Instagram account is safely tucked away, but Google is your best friend here. Or, you can use the link mentioned above. However, you don’t have to permanently delete your account. You can disable it, you can block the unwanted users, and you can sanction your Instagram time by deleting the app.
Have you deleted your account permanently? Or decided to disable it instead? Tell us why. Check out the comments under this entry and feel free to join the discussion.