How to Reset Your TikTok Account

Eventually, you might get tired of relentlessly swiping through stunts, home-made music videos, and challenges. This signals that it’s high-time to reset your account – and you shouldn’t think twice about it. You can always sign back up to catch up on the latest TikTok trends.

But before you begin, there’s one thing you should know. You first need to delete your account, before resetting it.

Deleting TikTok Account

You can remove your account from a smartphone or a tablet, and the same steps apply on Android and iOS devices. Here are the necessary steps.

  1. Tap the Me icon in the bottom right corner of the screen to pull up your profile.
  2. Access the More menu by tapping the three horizontal dots on the top right corner.
  3. Select Manage My Account and then tap on Delete Account.
  4. Complete the verification process and press Delete.

That out of the way, TikTok displays a tiny notification that the action has been successful and you’re back on the TikTok video feed. If you want to make sure the account is gone, tap on the “Me” icon and you’ll be greeted with a Sign Up button.

Things to Know

Deleting a TikTok account prevents you from accessing all the content. And those who made purchases via the app, won’t be able to get a refund. But there is a silver lining.

TikTok actually deactivates your account for thirty days, then the social network permanently deletes all the data. Those who sign back in during the time period should be able to retrieve the data. Of course, you need to sign in using the credentials for the account you deleted.

Can You Delete TikTok Account via the Web Client?

The quick answer is no, you can’t. TikTok allows you to log in and browse the social network via a browser. And you can upload, like, and comment on the videos. But account management options are limited.

You can pretty much log in and log out, without any settings that exist in the mobile app. Given the mobile nature of this social network, this isn’t surprising.

Getting Your Account Back

Assuming the reset involves getting the account back to where it was when you started, proceed to sign back in. You can do this at any time as long as it’s within the thirty-day period. But should you want a clean slate, take a break for a month, then proceed.

  1. Select the Login, and follow the steps you would take to login to your original account normally.
  2. Once you’ve done this, you’ll see the “Reactivate My Account” window. Tap the “Reactivate” button and you’ll be taken back to Tik Tok and your profile will be restored.

The great thing is that TikTok will save all your data, including the video drafts you haven’t posted yet.

Does This Really Mean You’ve Reset Your Account?

Unfortunately, no, not really. Reset in itself means you’re reverting to the original setting and content. That is, your account should be cleared of all the content, contacts, and whatnot.

Signing back in during the thirty-day period actually reinstates your account rather than resetting it. And if you want to truly complete the reset, it’s best to wait for thirty days. But is there another way to do it?

Again, the answer is negative. You can manually remove all the content and contacts, but this isn’t exactly the same as a resent. Then there is an option to “Switch Accounts” when you’re signing back in.

You can choose this and select a different sign-up method. Use your Facebook account instead of Google or email, for example. But then, you’re effectively creating a new account from scratch, not resetting the old one.

Not that this is something you should stress about. Most social networks don’t have an option to clear your account then reset it. This is due to the fact that users often want to keep all their data, even when they’re not on the network.

Tik Tok, Tik Tok, Tik Tok

It would be really cool if TikTok allowed you to reset everything and start over with the same credentials. But there’s no such option, and you can’t choose to have your data stored for less than thirty days.

Why would you like to reset your TikTok? Did you consider creating a new account? Give us your two cents in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights