What Does Sent, Received and Delivered Mean in Snapchat?

Snapchat is a fairly intuitive social network that uses a bunch of icons to describe status, various activities, and goings-on. Once you know what each means, the platform is easy to get on with. Until you know what each means, the platform can be a confusing mess. If you’re new to Snapchat, this tutorial will show you what each icon in Snapchat means, including the most important, sent, received, and delivered.

Snapchat is huge and still growing. In an extremely competitive space, this social network has grown and gotten steadily better. If you have managed to avoid using it for this long but have succumbed to its wiles, this guide will give you a basic overview of the icons the network uses and what they mean.

Snapchat uses icons in the Friends screen to help you quickly understand what’s going on.

The Sent Icons in Snapchat

Snapchat has three icons to signify a Snap has been sent by you to a friend.

  • A red arrow tells you a Snap without audio was sent.
  • A purple arrow tells you a Snap with audio was sent.
  • A blue arrow tells you a chat was sent.

Opened Icons in Snapchat

Once a Snap or chat has been received by your friend, at some point you should see the opened icon next to it. This is a hollow arrow in the same shape as the sent arrow.

  • A hollow red arrow means your Snap without audio was opened.
  • A hollow purple arrow means your Snap with audio was opened.
  • A hollow blue arrow means your chat was opened.
  • A hollow green arrow means your cash gift was opened.

The Received Icons in Snapchat

Received icons are squares and mean you have received one of three types of communication from a friend.

  • A red square means you have received a Snap or Snaps without audio.
  • A purple square means you have received a Snap or Snaps with audio.
  • A blue square means you have received a chat.

The Viewed Icons in Snapchat

Once you have opened your Snap or chat, you should see the square icon change to a hollow one. This tells you the message has been read.

  • A hollow red square means you have opened a Snap or Snaps without audio.
  • A hollow purple square means you have opened a Snap or Snaps with audio.
  • A hollow blue square means you have opened a chat.
  • A hollow gray square means a Snap you were sent expired.

The Screenshot Icons in Snapchat

Screenshot icons are warnings that someone you sent a Snap or chat to has screenshotted it. This is usually fine as friends will want to keep some stuff around for longer but if you’re sharing things you don’t want hanging around longer than 24 hours, this tells you to be on your guard.

  • A pair of crossed red arrows mean your Snap without audio was screenshotted.
  • A pair of crossed purple arrows means your Snap with audio was screenshotted.
  • A pair of crossed blue arrows means your chat was screenshotted.

The Replayed Icons in Snapchat

The final icons to remember if you’re new to Snapchat are the replay icons. This just means someone has replayed a Snap you sent. The replay icon is standard, a circle with an arrow pointing counter-clockwise.

  • The red replay icon means your Snap without audio was replayed.
  • The purple replay icon means your Snap with audio was replayed.

Sent, Received, and Delivered in Snapchat

Sent, received, and delivered are message status and tell you what has happened to your Snap or chat. They are very straightforward. The ‘sent’ status means you have sent a Snap or chat to someone and the Snapchat server acknowledges it. Received means the Snap or chat has been delivered to the recipient. Delivered means Snapchat has verified the delivery of the Snap to the recipient.

You should then see the opened icon at some point.

Additional Frequently Asked Questions

What if someone hasn’t opened my Snap yet?

Snapchat should take seconds to show you a sent, received, and delivered icon on your Snap or chat. Your Snap is sent from your app to the Snapchat server which gives you the sent. The Snapchat server acknowledges the Snap, which gives you the received. It sends the Snap to the recipient and once the app acknowledges it, you see the delivered.

Opened is another thing altogether. That depends on the recipient using Snapchat, seeing the new Snap, or even having the app open. There are lots of things that can delay someone opening a Snap and you should bear that in mind when sending them. People will open their messages quickly when they see them but won’t always be in a position to do that. Be patient and don’t get anxious when they don’t. Our lives are getting steadily busier so a little patience is sometimes necessary when waiting for a reply.

Why is my Snap pending?

When you’ve sent a Snap or message you may notice a “Pending” status. This can mean a few things. As we know, if it were delivered it would say delivered, if it was read, it would say read. So, what if Snapchat says “Pending” next to a message?

We have a more detailed article here, but the pending status means that either you’ve been blocked or the other person has closed their Snap account. The reason it says pending rather than delivered or read is because it was never technically delivered. There was no place for it to go.

Do my unread Snaps expire?

Yes. All unread Snaps will expire after a certain time. Due to the apps’ anonymity culture, even unread messages and snaps will disappear. There are two separate time frames to keep in mind when considering unread Snaps.

If you send a message to a group of people you message will disappear in only 24 hours.

If you send a message to only one user then the message will disappear after 30 days.

As mentioned previously, you can monitor the status of any message you’ve sent on Snapchat by the icons. If you’re concerned someone is ignoring your messages, keep an eye on the activity indicators within the messages.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights