How to Delete Saved Chats in Snapchat

Snapchat is one of the most fun popular apps out there. It has tons of great filters which makes chatting with friends ten times more interesting. One of the main selling points of Snapchat is its auto-delete feature.

You can send snaps and messages that are deleted after the receiver reads them. Snapchat has changed that over the years and now allows users to save some chats. If you’re wondering how to delete saved chats, you’re in the right place.

Read on to find out about deleting saved chats and regular chats on Snapchat.

Deleting Regular Snapchat Chats

You can delete your regular chats on Snapchat really easily. Make sure that you have the latest version of the Android or iPhone app, depending on the device you’re using. Here’s the official download for both platforms.

When your system and Snapchat are up to date, proceed with the steps to delete normal Snapchat chats:

  1. Launch Snapchat on your iPhone or Android phone.
  2. Select Chat and tap on the conversation you want to delete.
  3. Tap on the profile icon of this person.
  4. Select the More (three dots) option in the top-right corner of your screen.
  5. Tap on Clear Conversation.
    How to Delete Saved Chats
  6. Confirm with Clear.

OK, that was easy, but what about the saved messages?

Deleting Saved Snapchat Chats

Unfortunately, the messages on Snapchat that were saved can’t be deleted as easily. You can save any message on Snapchat if you press it and hold it until it becomes bold. To “unsave” it, do the same again until the message font becomes normal.

That’s how you cancel the saved message on your device, but it doesn’t account for the recipient’s device. When you save a message, it’s saved on both your phone and the other person’s. They need to delete the message too for it to disappear from your chat.

We get that this could be inconvenient, but there’s nothing you can do about it. Hopefully, the other person will be reasonable and delete the message if you ask them to. Unfortunately, there’s no other way around it, except maybe for some third-party apps, but using those isn’t recommended.

Bottom line, be careful what messages you save, and to whom you send them. If it’s a person you trust, then you can rely on them to simply delete the message on their end. In case they’re stubborn and won’t delete the app, you can remove them from your friend list or block their account.

How to Block Someone on Snapchat

There are two ways you can quickly cancel out the message you don’t want to be seen by the other person. This accounts for sent messages on Snapchat. The first method is to pull the plug on your internet, which is rather difficult and unlikely.

You can disable your cellular data or Wi-Fi and pray that the message wasn’t sent. The other way, which isn’t so sneaky because the other person can notice it, is to block the person in question. Follow the steps to block a person on Snapchat and prevent them from seeing your messages:

  1. Open Snapchat on your device.
  2. Select Chat.
  3. Then, long-press the name of the person that you’d like to block.
  4. Select More and then select Block.
  5. Confirm with Block.

How to Delete Your Snapchat Photos

Even though you can’t delete saved Snapchat conversations that easily, you can delete the Snaps that you’ve sent to other people. Follow these steps to do so:

  1. Launch Snapchat on your device.
  2. On the home screen, press the icon right below the capture button (Snaps).
  3. You’ll see all the previous snaps that were saved to your Snapchat memories. Long tap a snap that you want to delete. You can select multiple snaps at once.
  4. After you’ve selected everything press Delete (trash can icon).

All the snaps that were saved will be deleted from Snapchat, and from your device.

Better Safe Than Sorry

Frankly, it’s better not to save some Snapchat conversations if you think that they’ll come back to haunt you. The whole purpose of Snapchat is instant, untraceable messaging. Some would argue that the message saving feature should be scrapped.

What do you think? Did you manage to delete the unwanted messages? Hopefully, you did. Feel free to add your questions and comments below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights