Snapchat Friends Disappearing – Are They Deleting You?
Snapchat keeps your friends list updated regularly and updates your list of Best Friends on the platform based on your activity, putting whoever you’re in touch with the most throughout your list of eight BFFs.
When people drop off your best friends list, it typically has to do with who you communicate with the most often. However, if you’re scrolling through your list of friends and realize some names are missing, you might be worried.
What happened, and why did these people disappear from your list? Have they deleted you?
Read on to find out.
How Snapchat Friends Work
- How Snapchat Friends Work
- How Do You Know When Someone Deletes You on Snapchat?
- What Happens When Someone Blocks You on Snapchat?
- What Happens When Someone Deletes Their Snapchat Account?
- Final Thoughts
Different social media platforms have different approaches to modeling your interpersonal relationships.
For example, consider Facebook friend requests. You can only add a friend on Facebook if they consider you to be their friend too. If someone removes you from their Facebook friends list, you won’t see them on your own list either.
On the other hand, you only have to click follow on Instagram to follow someone. It doesn’t have to be mutual within Snapchat, either, as you can add users without having them add you back.
Here are some important notes about how your friendships work in Snapchat.
Add a Friend Without Sending a Request
On Snapchat, you can add a friend without sending a friend request. They don’t even have to add you back.
Simply find your friend from your contacts list or by using their username or email, then add them to your friends list. Your friend will receive a notification and can decide whether or not to add you to their friends list. They’ll stay on your list of friends even if they never add you as a friend.
By doing this, you’ll be able to see their Stories even if they don’t add you back. However, if they’ve changed their privacy settings to prevent certain people from following them, you may not be able to add them and view their content.
Your Friends Can See More of Your Content
When someone is on your list of friends, they can see the Stories that you set to private. They might be able to see your Snap Map location, depending on your preferences. It’s up to you to decide who can Snap you and Chat you. You can choose to receive messages from anybody, or just from people you added as friends. The person sending you a Snap doesn’t necessarily have to add you as a friend.
To change your privacy, head into the settings display on your profile screen, select the gear icon in the top right corner, then scroll down to the Who Can… section of the menu. This is where you can choose who can see your stories, your location, and who can contact you on Snap. You can also decide who can see you in Quick Add, which is Snapchat’s feature for recommending new friends.
From here, tap on the category you want to change. In the case of your location and your stories, you can also grant access or remove access from specific friends at any time by using the custom menu option.
The Order of Your Friends List Changes Frequently
The order depends on how frequently your talk with specific friends. So, if you can’t find someone on your friends list, make sure you’re typing their name correctly to get the right results.
How Do You Know When Someone Deletes You on Snapchat?
Here is what you can expect when someone removes you from their friends list:
- Depending on their privacy settings, you may not be able to send them a Snap or Chat.
- You won’t see their private Stories anymore.
- They won’t see your content in Explore anymore.
- You can’t see their Snap score anymore.
However, this won’t remove the person from your list of friends. So when you scroll through your list, you won’t know whether someone has deleted you.
You can check by opening your friends list up from the snap screen, then tapping on the friend you suspect deleted you. Check to see if you can see their snap score; if you can no longer see their score, they may have removed you from their friends list. However, if they aren’t deleted and you can see their full name, username, and snap score, you’ll confirm that the person is still on your friends list.
So just removing you won’t make the person disappear from your friends list. What else could be the reason behind a missing friend?
What Happens When Someone Blocks You on Snapchat?
On Snapchat, blocking has more consequences than deleting. When a person blocks you, you won’t be able to send them Snaps or Chats, whatever their privacy settings are. They also won’t be able to see your Stories or your location. But most importantly, it will change your friends list.
After someone has blocked you, their name will disappear from your list. They also won’t appear in your recent conversations. If you want to try searching for their name to add them back, you won’t be able to find them.
What Happens When Someone Deletes Their Snapchat Account?
If a friend deletes their account, their name will disappear from your list of friends. You also won’t be able to find them if you search for them.
So how do you know whether you got blocked or whether the person in question deleted their Snapchat account?
Start by logging out of Snapchat, then creating a new account on Snap. You can use a temporary email address to do this, such as Guerilla Mail.
With your new account, search for your former contact by name or Snap username. If they left Snapchat, you won’t be able to find them. But if they have you blocked, you will be able to find them from this new account. In this case, your usual account can’t find them because they blocked it, not because they disappeared from Snapchat.
It can be confusing and upsetting to discover that someone’s name is missing from your list of friends. A short investigation can let you know whether the person in question blocked you or left Snapchat completely.
However, if you do find out that you’ve been blocked, it’s important to respect that decision. Don’t try to get in touch with your former contact from a new account. It’s up to them to unblock you if they feel like it.