How to Tell If Someone Read Your GroupMe Message?

GroupMe is a convenient tool that helps you organize larger groups of people. It’s unlike other text messaging apps that focus on one-on-one conversations.

Instead, it mostly focuses on group conversations. Therefore the interface is a bit different, and some features can be a bit confusing or non-existent.

For example, if you want to know who read your GroupMe message, you may be surprised. There’s a situation when it works, but more often, you’ll find yourself hopelessly looking for the notification.

When Can You See the “Read” Notification

There’s only one certain way to make sure that someone has read your GroupMe message. That’s only if you use a direct message.

When you send a direct message to a GroupMe user, you’ll notice a small “Sent” alert below it. That means that your message went to the recipient, but it still hasn’t been opened.

When the other user opens the message and reads it, the alert below will state “Read.” This way, you’ll know that the recipient opened your message.

how to tell if someone read groupme message

All in all, there’s no much difference between GroupMe and other instant messaging apps. Each has its method of notifying you that your message has been read or “seen.”

What About GroupMe Group Chats?

Unfortunately, there’s no way to know who read your message in a GroupMe group chat.

The tool won’t let you know which group member has seen the message. That’s a downside compared to other similar instant messaging apps like Messenger. Those apps notify you after each individual gets the message.

There’s no viable way to fix this, either. So if you want to know if a particular group member got the message, try sending a direct message instead.

How to Send a Direct Message on GroupMe?

Direct Message is a private conversation between you and another GroupMe user. You may use it to find out if that specific user got and read your message.

Since GroupMe works better for a larger number of users, one-on-one conversations are pushed back to the second plan. That’s why it’s not easy to access it.

But here’s what you have to do.

  1. Open the Home screen of the GroupMe app.
  2. Tap the “Menu” icon (three horizontal lines) at the top-left of the app.
    groupme message
  3. Select the “Contacts” menu to open the list of contacts.
    if someone read your groupme message
  4. Find the user that you want to send the message.
  5. Enter the body of the message.
  6. Select “Send.”

There’s also a way to send a direct message to a user if you share a group.

  1. Open the group with the desired user from the GroupMe Home screen.
  2. Tap the “Members” button.
  3. Find the person that you want to text.
  4. Tap its profile image (avatar).
  5. Select “Direct Message” from the dropdown menu.

That will redirect you to a separate conversation with this user. Also, keep in mind that you can’t text SMS users via direct message.

Can You Delete Messages Before Others See Them?

GroupMe allows you to hide messages from your device, but you can’t delete them for everyone. So if you’ve sent something that you shouldn’t have, there’s no way to remove it. Other users will see it anyway.

If you want to hide those messages or conversations from your device, you can follow these steps:

  1. Choose the conversation that you want to hide from the GroupMe Home screen.
  2. Look for the message that you would like to hide.
  3. Long-press that message to access the menu (or right-click if you’re using a PC).
  4. Tap “Hide Message.”

If you hide the last message you’ve sent, you won’t be able to see if the other user has seen it.

But since all messages stay in the database, you can choose to “unhide” them.

  1. Tap the avatar of the individual user.
  2. Select “Settings.”
  3. Tap “Unhide messages.”

That will display all the messages from the conversation that you’ve previously hidden.

Pay Attention to Your Messages

All in all, GroupMe is a great tool for organizing larger groups, but there’s a noticeable lack of certain features.

The lack of the “Seen” option for group conversations may put a lot of users off. If you’re one of those who prefer to know the status of the message, you may want to switch to another app.

What do you think about GroupMe features? Is the lack of the “Seen” option a good or a bad thing? Share your opinion in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights