How to Delete Media in Telegram

Images and videos you exchange while chatting can take up too much memory space. This isn’t the case with Telegram, but you may still be interested in deleting media from your conversations when you no longer need them.

Many messaging apps offer different options when it comes to sharing, downloading and deleting files, such as images, videos, etc. Often, you need to delete data to free up your memory and help your device function properly.

What’s the deal with Telegram media? Keep reading to find out.

How to Delete Media from Cache

When you launch your Telegram app, tap the hamburger icon in the top left corner and go to Settings. From there, you should select Data and Storage, and then Storage usage to access the media settings. Here you can make some useful adjustments and delete any media you find unnecessary.

In Storage Usage, the first option is Keep Media, where you can specify for how long you’ll keep unused or unopened media in your phone. It can be anywhere between three days and forever; after this period, the media will automatically be deleted.

storage usage

However, all the items are stored in the Cloud, where you can access them again and download if necessary.

When you tap on Clear Cache, the second option here, you can choose the type of media you wish to remove from your device: photos, videos, music, or other files. You’ll also be able to see how much memory space you’ll free up by deleting these files. If you have an iOS device, you can also do this for each individual chat.

clear cache

How to Delete Shared Media from Chats

Telegram allows you to share huge files with your contacts. They can be up to 1.5GB in size and the process is fast and free. If you use a secret chat to share media with a friend or a colleague, it will be automatically destroyed. But what about regular chatting?

You have multiple ways to delete a file from a Telegram chat, and it’s just like deleting any other message. Telegram now allows you to delete messages and media files both for you and the other person. This may seem like a pretty convenient feature because you practically delete evidence of anything you said, but it can also be abused. Therefore, the public opinion about it is pretty divided.

Anyway, if you really wish to delete shared media from your Telegram conversations, here’s how to do it.

Delete a Single Message

One way to remove a file from a conversation is to delete that single message.

  1. Launch the Telegram app on your phone.
  2. Open the chat where you want to delete the media from.
  3. Tap and hold the image, video or other file you wish to delete.
  4. When the checkmark on the left side of the file is green, tap on the trash bin icon in the top right corner of the screen.
  5. In the pop-up window, choose Also delete for … (name of the contact), if you want to delete the file for both of you.
  6. Tap Delete.

Note that when it comes to media, it’s also possible to delete a single message by tapping on a three-dot icon in the top right corner of the image/video/GIF, or simply tapping on the file. A new pop-up window will appear, and just tap Delete to confirm.

Clear History

Another way for you to get rid of the unwanted media from a chat is to delete chat history. This way, your conversation won’t be removed from the chat list, but all your messages will be deleted.

  1. Open Telegram on your smartphone.
  2. Enter the chat where an undesired file is located.
  3. Tap the three-dot icon in the top right corner of the screen to open the chat menu.
  4. Choose Clear history.
  5. In the window that will pop up on your screen, choose Also clear history for … and tap on Clear history to confirm.

Delete Chat

The third option deletes the chat and doesn’t leave a trace of the conversation between you and your contact ever existing.

  1. Launch Telegram on your phone.
  2. Open the chat you wish to remove files from.
  3. Open the chat menu by tapping the three-dot icon in the top right corner of your screen.
  4. Choose Delete chat.
  5. Check the box that confirms you also want to delete the file for the other person.
  6. Tap Delete chat to confirm your choice.

What About Group Chats?

Your ability to delete messages and media in a group chat depends on whether or not you’re an admin.

Group admins have the option of deleting all the messages for all the members of the group. This option will be presented to you in different ways, depending on your device: Delete for Everyone on iOS devices or Delete for all members on Android phones. If you only want to delete the messages for yourself, you can choose Delete for me on iOS and Delete on Androids.

If you’re a regular member of the group chat, without admin privileges, you can only delete your own messages.

Think Twice Before Tapping the Send button

No matter how secure Telegram messaging is, you should always be careful about the media you share with others, especially if it’s something personal or confidential.

You can delete media from a chat, but if the other person has already downloaded the file to their phone or PC, there’s not much you can do about it. You may delete evidence that you’ve sent a file, but the file will still exist.

What kind of files do you share with others via Telegram? Have you ever needed to delete media from a conversation for privacy reasons? Share your experience in the comments section below!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights