How To Tell if Someone Blocked you on Facebook [January 2020]
Social media is a great tool used to interact with and meet others. There are times when you or someone else may be ‘blocked’ by another user. This feature is open for anyone to use for any reason.
To protect users’ privacy or the feelings of others, Facebook does not show you who blocked you. There isn’t a notification that you’ve been blocked nor is there a list of users who’ve blocked your account.
You may wonder how can you tell if someone has blocked you?
How do you know if someone has blocked you on Facebook or deactivated their account?
- How do you know if someone has blocked you on Facebook or deactivated their account?
- Blocked or Unfriended?
- How do you know if you have been blocked on Facebook?
- Check Their Other Social Media Accounts
- When you block someone on Messenger What do they see?
- Consider More Than One Approach
Unfortunately, the blocking feature acts similarly to when someone deactivates their account. Each goes beyond unanswered Facebook messages and no longer seeing their posts every day.
Breaking down how Facebook works in regards to friends, blocks and everything in between will help you understand whether someone has blocked you.
Blocked or Unfriended?
First of all, let’s understand that there is a big difference between being blocked and being unfriended. If someone unfriends you, they’ve simply taken you off of their friend’s list. You can still find them and see their comments in posts by mutual friends, and you can still see whatever portions of their profile or their feed that are open to the public.
However, if someone blocks you, they disappear entirely. You won’t be able to find anything they write on the site. Old comments from them on your own page will still be visible, but you won’t be able to see anything they do or say in real-time going forward from the time of the block.
In short, they effectively disappear from Facebook, as far as you know. So if you don’t see them in your Friends list but can still see them on the site, you haven’t been blocked, you’ve been unfriended.
How do you know if you have been blocked on Facebook?
Try searching for the friend in question. If their profile doesn’t pop up when you search for them, there’s a good chance you’ve been blocked, but it’s not a guarantee. To ensure they haven’t deactivated their account, have another Facebook user search for their profile. If it appears, it is confirmed that the profile has blocked yours.
In this way, you can rule out whether they’ve simply adjusted their privacy settings to prevent anyone from searching for their profile. If you can’t find them, but someone else can, then you’ve been blocked.
Check Posts and Comments
If you’ve just been unfriended, then you’ll still be able to see your former friend’s activity on your wall. Have they ever posted anything to your wall? Have they ever commented on any of your posts? How about posts from mutual friends?
Their posts and comments won’t disappear from your page. However, instead of their name appearing as a clickable link, it will appear just as black bold text. This is a sure sign that you’ve been blocked.
Can you tell if someone blocked you on Messenger?
Facebook Messenger can provide insight into your predicament. When you suspect that you’ve been blocked you can search for the messages the two of you have shared. Although they’ll appear, rather than their profile, you’ll see Facebook User.
If you try to send them a message, you will receive a message that this person isn’t accepting Facebook messages. The “This person isn’t available” is a key indicator that you’re online relationship has ended.
Check Their Other Social Media Accounts
Facebook owns Instagram so similar principles apply. While it’s unlikely that someone deactivated all of their social media accounts, it is likely that someone who’s no longer interested in communicating with you would block you on all of their accounts.
If you go to Instagram, Snapchat, or any other site and their profile does not appear, it’s probably because you’ve been blocked. If you find them there, feel free to send a message asking them if they deactivated their Facebook account.
When you block someone on Messenger What do they see?
When you block someone on Facebook, they will no longer be able to see your messages, profile, or past comments you’ve made whether it’s on their posts or someone else’s. They won’t be notified when you block them, so it won’t be immediately obvious to them, but they’ll be able to figure it out once they try to search you or attempt to message you.
It won’t directly say on Facebook messenger that you’ve blocked them, but it will say the person is “unavailable” immediately after. If you’re worried they’ll get mad at you after you block them, there’s another alternative to blocking.
You can either unfriend them, spend less time on Facebook, or tell them directly that you still want to remain friends in person and do the slow fade until they leave you alone.
Consider More Than One Approach
There are other explanations for many of the above strategies. We’ve already mentioned that someone could disappear from your friend’s list simply because they unfriended you. We also talked about how someone could be unsearchable because they changed their privacy settings. Accounts can also be suspended or deleted.
Since you won’t see their profile, you won’t be able to block them in return. Their profile may show back up at some point, if you have still hold ill will, you can return the block at that point.
If you’re concerned about your online friendship with another person, you can always ask them if they’ve deactivated their account. The response, or lack of response, will enlighten you to what is actually going on rather than worrying about it.
If someone has blocked you in error, like your grandmother playing with Facebook and its gone too far, you can follow these steps to unblock someone:
- Go to the Facebook settings from the app or browser
- Scroll down and click or tap on ‘Privacy’
- Scroll down and click or tap ‘Blocking’
- Locate the profile in question and click ‘Unblock’
Keep in mind, doing this action means you will have to wait to block them again for a short time. If you’re unblocking someone to snoop at their profile, they’ll be able to see yours as well until you’re able to block them again.