How To Tell if Someone Deleted their Discord Account

Discord is for easy-to-use communication between buds and guildmates, sometimes it can be a bit too much to handle. If someone no longer feels the need to use the service they may delete their account entirely. Unfortunately, Discord does not alert fellow members that an account was deleted.

There is a pretty simple solution to figuring out if someone has deleted their account. Although, it may also seem as if they may have just unfriended you or possibly have been banned. Let’s figure it out together.

If you’d like to delete your Discord account read How to Delete a Discord Account.

Has an Account Been Deleted?

One key indicator of knowing whether an account has been deleted is by checking out the username. Changes to the username occur when someone goes through the process of deleting their account.

It is important to mention that Discord gives users the option to disable rather than delete an account. A disabled account will appear the same as one that has been deleted. If you’re looking for a contact that appears deleted it’s important to check back for activity at a later date.

There are several ways for a user to customize interactions within the Discord platform. Blocking users, disabling an account, unfriending someone, and deleting an account is at the mercy of users.

Active Users should look something like this:

When an account is deleted, the name of the account changes to something along the lines of “DeletedUser#####.” The numbers that appear after the “DeletedUser” may be all zeros or a bunch of randomly generated numbers. So if your friend currently appears on your “Friend’s List” in this manner, their account has been deleted.

The name can also appear in previously posted messages including those within the server chatrooms, direct messages, and any other point of interaction on Discord.

Each account has a unique identification number attached to it (in the case of the screenshot above the ID number is “7098”) at the creation of the account. The account’s username and unique identification number are no longer connected in any meaningful way once an account is deleted. This assures the person whose account has been deleted that their information and previously posted text cannot be traced back to them.

Another indicator that an account has been deleted or disabled is that any mutual friends the two users had will no longer show as “mutual connections.” This is because the user with the deleted/disable account is no longer active.

If an account has been disabled by Discord for abuse or perhaps an underage person was running the account, the username will appear the same as listed above. Regardless of the reason; if you see “DeletedUser#####” the account is no longer active.

For those who would like to permanently delete their Discord account they can. Ensuring that even the “DeletedUser#####” no longer appears on the platform, users can contact the support team at [email protected]

Blocked Accounts

Users will still be able to see a disabled or deleted account. If someone has been blocked by another user the account will no longer appear at all. If you think you may have been blocked but see the “DeletedUser #####,” then you haven’t been blocked.

Unfriended

If you can see the username still active, such as the screenshot listed above then the account has not been disabled and you haven’t been blocked. If you aren’t able to see any of the information about the account this simply means you’ve been unfriended.

What Happens When Someone Deletes Their Account?

If someone deletes their account, the messages they’ve sent still remain along with images and other information. This makes it difficult for many users to identify whether an account is gone for good or if the administrator is taking a break.

Although past information is left behind, you’ll notice there is no new activity and you won’t receive any response to your current messages.

Restoring a Deleted Account

Discord does not permanently delete account information for 30 days. If someone has deleted their account then decided to reactivate it, the task is possible.

Regardless of the reason for the deletion, you can restore the account so long as it’s been within the 30-day window of deletion.

Once the 30 days are up, the account is permanently deleted along with any personal information attached to it. This is done to comply with the demands of GDPR or the “General Data Protection Regulation.”

In order to restore the Discord account to its normal standing:

  1. The user with the deleted account will need to login to Discord via either the desktop or browser app.
    • A pending “Account Scheduled For Deletion” window should pop-up indicating that your account has entered the countdown to permanent destruction.

  2. Just below the “I am sure! Button,” you should see “Change your mind? Restore Account”.
  3. Click on Restore Account to have access to your account once again.
    • If you do not see the described dialog box when logging in to restore your account, it is already too late. The account is no longer available for restoration and has been permanently deleted.
    • To create a new account, you’d have to begin the process anew.

For accounts that were deleted courtesy of Discord, you will have to create new accounts. It’s possible that the IP attached to your deleted account has also been banned. This means you’ll need to acquire the help of a VPN to circumvent the ban and create a new account.

 

6 thoughts on “How To Tell if Someone Deleted their Discord Account”

Avatar Vukan says:
I have a question, i had a realy good friend on discord and she deleted her acc 3 days ago, Is there any way I can call her or contact her and can i see email or something of somone’s acc, pls somone answer me
Avatar Kiera says:
Does the #(numbers) beside their username would still be visible when they deleted their account? Because my friend’s account username changed to DeletedUser(randomnumbers) yet, he still got his ID #(numbers).
Avatar Kirighaya kazuto says:
Whatif someone just deletes their discord Application how would we know that he/she deleted their discord application?
Avatar gaming#3765 says:
Their account would still be there. The app doesn’t delete the account really. It’s just a client for your account to use. Not to hold it.
Avatar Brooke says:
Will the account show the deleted username for 30 days or will it show normally for 30 days and then after show the username?
Avatar Victoria says:
So are you able to get in any banned discord after the 30 day permanent account is deleted
Avatar John says:
You say that once an account is deleted that the user ID and personal information are no longer linked, does this apply for Discord themselves, or just users?
In other words can discord identify a deleted user and their personal data by using a user id?
Avatar Matthew says:
Ditto this

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.