- Tech Junkie - https://www.techjunkie.com -

How to Tell If Someone Screenshotted Your TikTok Post

A screenshot can be useful when you want to prove that something happened on social media, even if the user deletes their post, comment, or even private messages. However, screenshots can sometimes be used to harm users. So, no wonder everyone is going on about how to know if someone screenshotted their story, post, or a conversation in messaging apps.

TikTok has become very popular recently, and it will likely have even more users in the future. Are your posts safe from screenshots? Not really – you can’t stop someone from doing it. But will you be notified when someone takes a screenshot of something you posted? Let’s find out.

Privacy on Social Media

Instagram, Facebook, and similar social networks don’t send you notifications when someone screenshots your posts or stories. This means that even if your profile is private and you don’t accept friends or follow requests from people you don’t know, they can still access the content you share if one of your friends takes a screenshot and shows it to them.

It’s been a major issue among social media users, so some apps, like Snapchat, introduced a new feature. On Snapchat and some other platforms, a user gets a notification every time someone secretly takes a screenshot of their content. That includes photos, videos, private conversations, and Stories.

However, Snapchat users have already come up with ways to avoid triggering the screenshot alarm. For example, doing it in the offline mode and clearing the cache memory afterward. It’s a relatively simple way to get around the notification, so social networks will have to think of something else to prevent unauthorized screenshots.

Tell if Someone Screenshoted Your TikTok Post

Does TikTok Notify You When Someone Screenshots Your Posts?

Unfortunately, the answer is no. You won’t receive a notification when someone screenshots anything you post on TikTok, including your direct messages. Like on any other social platform, you should be careful when posting something too personal.

There’s another potential issue with TikTok. Anyone can download your videos if your profile is public. It might become a problem if your goal is not to become an influencer or go viral with your videos. Even if or when you delete your videos, they may stay on the Internet if someone has downloaded and shared them.

But don’t let this fact discourage you from using social networks. They are certainly useful in many ways, and there are even more ways to protect your privacy the best you can.

How to Keep Your Profile Private on TikTok

Despite lacking the screenshot notifications, TikTok made sure you can at least adjust your settings and boost your profile’s privacy.

Here are a couple of tricks that will help you protect your privacy.

privacy and security

Downloading Videos

You can quickly turn this feature off and block everyone from downloading your videos. Not even your friends will be able to do it.

  1. Go to your profile and tap on the three-dot icon in the upper right corner of the screen.
  2. Choose Privacy and Settings from the menu.
  3. Now select Privacy and Safety.
  4. In this menu, there’s the Allow Download option, so tap to open it.
  5. Tap to disable it, and your followers will no longer see the download button under your videos.

Reactions and Comments

You can also control who can leave a comment on your video or react to it.

These settings are just above the Allow Download option, so tap on each of them and choose Friends, if it’s set to Everyone. This way, you’re only allowing your followers to react and comment on your videos.

Can Others Find You?

The same section contains other important features. You can block other TikTok users from receiving a suggestion to follow you, and set your account to private. If you set it to private, you need to approve other users’ requests to follow you and see your content. You should also limit people who can send you direct messages to your friends only.

Who Viewed Your Profile

If you’re interested in finding out more about who visits your TikTok profile we have good news for you! You can see who visits your profile by clicking on the ‘Inbox’ icon located at the bottom of the home screen. You will see who’s recently viewed your content at the top of your recent activity.

Your most recent viewers won’t last long so it’s probably a good idea to check your recent activity frequently.

Blocking Accounts

If you already know you have unwanted visitors, the best prevention is to block their accounts. Of course, mutual friends may still take screenshots and pass them on, but being proactive will certainly make it more difficult for unwanted users to have access to your TikTok content.

To block an account, do this:

  1. Click the magnifying glass icon to search for the user you’d like to block – you may also find them quicker in your Inbox.
  2. Tap the three dots in the upper right-hand corner
  3. In the menu that appears at the bottom click ‘Block’

If you rekindle your friendship with the other user, or you want to take screenshots of their content, unblocking an account is easy. To unblock an account do this:

  1. Click on the profile icon in the lower right-hand corner.
  2. Tap on the three horizontal dots in the upper right-hand corner
  3. Tap on ‘Privacy & Safety’
  4. Tap on ‘Blocked Accounts’ located at the bottom of this menu
  5. Select the account you’d like to retrieve and unblock them.

Blocking people isn’t a practical solution to every problem we have with other users online, but it does give you a little more control over your account and your privacy.

Screenshot or Not

The next time you want to take a screenshot of someone else’s post, stop for a second and think about it. They’ll never know, but it’s also pretty unethical if they haven’t given you their consent. Notified or not, TikTok users like to feel safe on this platform, so think before you tap.

On the other hand, the other user could be flattered that you’d like to save their content or snap a screenshot (hence the popular nature of TikTok’s duet feature [10]). If you’d like to capture content and feel good about it, you can always send a DM to the other user and ask their permission.