How to View Your Instagram Stories Archive

You may think that Instagram stories disappear after one day, but that’s not entirely true. All your stories are saved to your private Archive, which means other people can’t see them until you share them.

In this article, we’ll explain how to view your Instagram Stories Archive. Plus, we’ll show you what you can do with the archived stories themselves.

Where Is My Archive?

Luckily, you don’t need any other app or tool to see your archived stories. You’re only ever one click away. Here’s how to open your archive:

  1. Open the Instagram app.
  2. Go to your Profile.
  3. Tap on the three lines in the top right corner to open the Menu.
  4. Tap on Archive.
  5. The Stories Archive will open, and you should be able to see all your stories.

That’s it! In just a couple of seconds, you can view all the stories you’ve ever published. Your most recent stories will appear first, so you’ll have to scroll down to see the older stories. However, they’re all there! You can see the memories you created years ago. How awesome is that?

Note: The only way to do this is by using the Instagram app on your phone and tablet. As you know, the desktop version doesn’t have all the options that the phone app has.

view your instagram stories archive

Can I Share Stories from the Archive?

Of course! Instagram is all about sharing those special moments with others. You can republish old stories and share your memories with your friends. Here’s how to do it:

  1. Open your Archive.
  2. Choose the story you’d like to share and tap on it.
  3. Tap on the Share button at the bottom of the screen.
  4. You can then share it as a new story or send it to someone as a private message.

Before you press Send, you can see a preview of what your story will look like. It’s going to be the same story you once published but with some new details. The app will automatically write the date and the year of the original post. Optionally, you can add a caption, sticker, or draw something.

On the other hand, you can also share your old story as a post. Here’s what you have to do:

  1. Open your Archive.
  2. Choose the story you’d like to share and tap on it.
  3. Tap on More in the bottom right corner.
  4. Tap on Share as a post.
  5. You can then edit the photo, just like any other post.
  6. When you finish, tap on Publish.

There you have it! Now you know how to save your old story more permanently, as a post on your profile.

Add Archived Stories to Your Highlight

There’s another way to save your stories permanently. You don’t have to publish them as a new post. You can add them as a highlight on your profile if you already have one. Otherwise, you can create a new highlight and save them there

Highlights are a great way to save stories from important events, such as your wedding or that trip you took last summer. On the other hand, if you have a public Instagram profile about a certain topic, you can put things like the FAQ in your highlights.

This is all you have to do:

  1. Open your Archive.
  2. Choose the story you’d like to add to your highlight.
  3. Tap on Highlight at the bottom of the screen.
  4. Choose an existing highlight or create a new one.
  5. Tap on Save.

If you want to create a new highlight and add a lot of stories from your archive, there’s an even faster way to do it:

  1. Open your Archive.
  2. Tap on the three dots in the top right corner.
  3. Tap Create Highlight.
  4. Select all the stories you want to put in that highlight.
  5. Tap on Save.

Optionally, you can name your highlights and set a cover picture for each one of them. This can be a great way to organize your stories if you want to allow people to see them even after one day.

how to view instagram stories archive

Archive Settings

If you can’t see your old stories in Archive, maybe they aren’t saved there. This option should be automatically enabled, but that’s sometimes not the case. You may need to enable it in the Archive Settings.

Open your Archive and tap on the three dots in the top right corner. Then, tap on the Settings. You’ll see three options here. You can enable or disable them by sliding the button. The options are the following:

  1. Save to archive – If you want your stories to be automatically saved to your Archive, you should enable this option.
  2. Allow resharing to stories – If you enable this option, other people will be able to share your posts as a story. Of course, your username will always appear under the post.
  3. Allow sharing as a message – If you enable this option, other people will be able to send your story to someone as a message. However, if your profile is private, people who aren’t following you won’t be able to see it.

Once you enable your stories to be saved to your archive, you won’t have to worry about keeping them in your phone gallery, etc. They’ll be automatically saved for you in your Instagram app. However, you still won’t be able to see stories you’ve published before enabling this option.

Stories & Memories

The Instagram Stories Archive is a beautiful way to save your memories. No wonder it’s become so popular among users. The Archive is easy to access, and even better, it makes sharing your memories with others a piece of cake.

Has Instagram ever surprised you with a story you’ve forgotten about? Do you like this feature? Let us know in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.