How To Find Deleted Friends in the Snapchat App

It is fairly easy to delete friends from Snapchat. If you don’t want to follow certain users anymore, you can remove them from your list in a couple of taps. That being said, if a process is easy, it’s often just as easy to make mistakes.

You might accidentally remove someone that you didn’t intend to. Or what if you are able to patch up whatever conflict you had, but oops!  They’re already deleted! Will this lead to terrible friend drama?

Not necessarily. You don’t have to worry since you can re-add your friends right away. However, you will need to enter some information about their profile before you can add them again. So what happens if you aren’t able to remember their username?

Depending on the information you have about them, you can use different methods to re-add Snapchat friends. This article will explain four different methods of finding deleted friends.

How to Find Deleted Friends

If you deleted a friend by mistake and you want to add them again, you can do it in a few ways. You can either add them by username, from a contact list, from your friends’ list, or by using a snap code.

One helpful feature of Snapchat is that friends often stay on your friend’s list even when you delete them, if even for a very limited time. So, if you can’t remember your friend’s username or contact information, and you just now, very accidentally deleted them, your first stop should be to check if they are still on your friends’ list.

Add a Deleted Friend from Your Friends List

If your friend’s username is still on your friends’ list, you can easily add them back. To do this, you should:

Go to the Snapchat app.

Tap on your user profile on the top-left of the screen.

 

Snapchat How to Find Deleted Friend

Find the Friends section and select My Friends.

 

Snapchat Find Deleted Friends

When the list opens, you will see all the users that you follow and that follow you.

Even if you deleted several friends, they may remain on this list with a little plus sign on the right side of their name. That means they’re still following you and blissfully unaware of the huge mistake you just made. To re-add them, just tap on the plus sign. Your deleted friend will be your friend again.

Of course, this method will work only if that friend also follows you.

Add a Deleted Friend Using Their Snapchat Username

If you remember your friend’s username, you can quickly add them back. All you have to do is use the search option to find them. Follow these steps:

Open Snapchat from the app menu.

Tap on the “+” sign

Select the Add Friends icon from the top right side of the screen (profile with a plus sign above it)

Snapchat Find Deleted Friend

Search for the username

Start typing the username in the search bar.

The profile should appear.

How to Find Deleted Friends on Snapchat

Tap on the Add button on the right.

After following these steps, you will have successfully re-added your friend. If you don’t remember their username, you may have the option to recover it by visiting Snapchat on your web browser and choosing the Snapchat Data option. Downloading this information will give you a complete list of people who you’ve blocked or deleted.

Simply log in and follow the verification steps to gain access to Snapchat. Then, download your information from the website, open the file, and search for their username.

Add a Deleted Friend from Contacts

Snapchat also syncs all of your contacts so you can easily find and add them via the app. Follow these instructions to add a friend from your contact list:

Open the Snapchat app. Then, tap on the Add Friends icon from the top right side of the screen.

Tap All contacts on the right side of the screen.

 

How to Find Deleted Friend on Snapchat

You will see a list of all your contacts that have a Snapchat account.

Find your friend and hit the Add button on their right.

If you can’t find a deleted friend in your contacts, and you know you used to have their contact info, there’s a chance they deactivated their Snapchat account. On the other hand, they might simply use a different e-mail or number for Snapchat.

Add a Friend with a Snapcode

Another way to find your friend is to use their Snapcode. If you own a photo of your friend’s Snapcode on your phone, Snapchat will easily find their profile. To do this, you should:

Go to Snapchat and tap on your profile icon on the top left.

Select Add Friends from the profile screen.

 

Snapchat Find Deleted Friends

Tap on the ghost icon on the right side of the search bar.

 

Find deleted friends on snapchat

Find the Snapcode image from the gallery.

Tap on the image of the Snapcode

Snapchat will scan the code, find your friend, and add them back to your friends’ list.

Keep in mind that Snapcode has to be in its proper size. If the image is cropped, stretched, or changed in any other way, it won’t work.

How Does Deleting Work on Snapchat?

You can delete a friend on Snapchat and never worry that they’ll receive a notification unless you add them back. There are ways for people to tell whether they’ve been deleted or not.

Another user won’t be able to see your Snap Score if they’re not friends with you. Depending on your privacy settings, they won’t be able to see your Snaps, stories, or messages unless you have a public profile.

If your friend realizes that you’ve gone MIA on their account, they may contact you to inquire why you’ve deleted them so be prepared. If it was an accident, you may not even notice they’re gone for some time.

You’ll Have Some Explaining to Do

As mentioned previously, when you delete a friend from your friends’ list, there will be no notifications. Your friends will not know that you removed them. However, once you add them back, they will probably receive a notification from the app indicating that “(Your Username) has added you!”

If this happens, you might need to explain that you deleted them by accident. Whether this is the actual truth or a little white lie is entirely up to you.  But hey, at least we’ve managed to restore things to the way they were before things got out of hand!

Frequently Asked Questions

What if I still can’t find the username of the deleted contact?

The only other option Snapchat users have to find usernames of those they’ve deleted is to download their Snapchat data from the website. Log in and click on the ‘Data’ link. From there you can download all of your Snapchat stored data as a zip file to your computer.

Scroll through the data and view the logs from people who have sent you Snaps. Assuming the other person has sent or received Snaps from you, you can find their username here.

I accidentally deleted a friend. Will they get a notification if I add them back?

Yes. Although Snapchat doesn’t notify other users that you deleted them, they will get one when you re-add them. Ultimately, the best way to handle this is to explain to them that what happened was an accident, glitch, or malfunction and add them back.

Can I still send messages to someone I deleted?

It depends on their privacy settings. If their settings are set to allow messages from “Everyone” then yes. But, if they’ve set their privacy restrictions, they may not receive your messages.

Try sending the user a message, if they respond they’ve seen it but if it says “Pending” they likely have their privacy settings set to standard.

8 thoughts on “How To Find Deleted Friends in the Snapchat App”

Avatar Stephanie O mahony says:
Hi guys, I deleted a contact in snapchat by mistake and I really want to get them back can you please help me
Avatar Laurie Campbell says:
When I went on that site and they sent me the data, I click on it, but all of the things on the left hand side are not clickable, trying to find deleted friends.
Avatar Oscar willett says:
So I need to get back an account that I accidentally pressed clear conversation on and deleted her account idk where it is now I need to get it back
Avatar James says:
How do I download the data. open and extract the zip file and then open the index file.
Avatar Kevin says:
Use a web browser and log in to accounts.snapchat.com. Click on the My Data button and download the data. In your email, open and extract the zip file and then open the index file. Browse to the Friends option and you will see your deleted friends and their usernames.
Avatar Triston says:
I did that too
Avatar Alyson Bowman says:
Hi I removed a couple Snapchat friends but I didn’t mean to and I don’t remember there username is there anyway you guys can help me

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.