Does Bumble Notify the Other User When You Screenshot?

If you’re active in the online dating world, then the odds are that you’re using Bumble. Bumble is a dating, networking, and friend-finding app that built on the early success of Tinder but made one crucial change: on Bumble, after a male-female match, the woman is the one who has to initiate a conversation.

TechJunkie's Fast Answer
No, Bumble does not have screenshot alerts
Read the article for more information

This difference, small as it may seem, set Bumble apart from the other dating apps out there and probably contributed to the app’s success. Some people love it and some people hate it but it really distinguishes Bumble from Tinder.

Dating apps are a curious thing. Their sole purpose is to provide a private platform for individuals to have one-on-one conversations so that they can feel out whether or not they would make a compatible couple. Dating apps are at least a partial replacement for that awkward first date where a couple strives to find things to talk about within the strained parameters of the dating social norm.

Bumble Privacy

It should be understood that on Bumble our privacy is pretty much an illusion. It’s not a good idea to make revealing declarations, commit embarrassing acts of courtship, or declare one’s guilt for capital crimes in chatting with a match on the site. Like any other social media app, you should be very cautious about what information you reveal when using Bumble.

It’s reasonable to ask, however, whether Bumble does anything to protect that veil of privacy within its terms and conditions or in the app itself.

In other words, does Bumble notify the other party when someone takes a screenshot? While there’s no way to prevent someone from taking a screenshot of a conversation, it would at least be nice to know if they do. Honestly, the app doesn’t offer much privacy in the Settings so, once you go active, your information is displayed for everyone to see.

In this article, I will answer that question in the context of discussing Bumble’s privacy policy and the overall state of privacy laws in the United States.

Bumble’s Privacy Policy

When you sign up at Bumble, you provide them with quite a bit of information. The data that they request from you includes, but is not necessarily limited to, your name, your username/handle, your email address, your cell number, your gender identity, your date of birth, your sexual preference, your photographs, your location, and login information and friends list for your social media accounts (such as Facebook and Instagram).

Does Bumble keep that information secret? In a word, no.

In the words of the Bumble privacy policy, “Where you do upload and choose to tell us sensitive information about yourself, you are explicitly consenting to our processing of your information and making this public to other users. When you post information about yourself or use the messaging function, the amount of personal information you share is at your own risk.”

Just as with Twitter, Facebook, or Instagram, anything you share on Bumble could be saved and shared with countless other people, even if that wasn’t your intention. So post with care.

Does Bumble Send a Notification When You Screenshot?

To put it simply, no it doesn’t. Not great news for the privacy-conscious Bumble user.

The only things that are kept absolutely secret on Bumble regarding your personal information are your password and financial information. (In case you used your credit card to buy one of their Boosts or otherwise subscribed to one of their premium member deals.)

Everything else is pretty much considered fair game, at least for now. Although, things like your email address and mobile number aren’t specifically public. So, if you want to take a screenshot of someone’s profile picture and send it to a friend for a quick evaluation, knock yourself out!

But keep in mind that other people can do the same to you. So think twice before you share that deeply personal story with your new match.

What About Private Conversations?

Does Bumble notify users when you screenshot private conversations?

That’s another resounding NO.

As long as you are not taking the screenshot in order to commit fraud or other criminal act, then you can take screenshots of your personal messaging history with someone to your heart’s content. As is the case with the pictures, bringing a friend on board to help you raise red flags and play the devil’s advocate is a valid tactic in weeding out undesirable matches, so as long as you respect everyone’s privacy on the platform, screenshotting messages is perfectly fine on Bumble!

Protecting Your Privacy

It is often said that the human element is the real issue with online privacy. Essentially, you’re already in control of how much data you share regardless of anything app developers create. When using any dating apps, social media sites, or other technology keep in mind; once it’s on the internet it’s there forever (technically). No matter the privacy settings, there are things to consider when using dating apps like Bumble.

If you wouldn’t send a photo of something to another user, don’t let it become a screenshot in the first place. As mentioned previously, Bumble probably isn’t the best place to admit to capital offenses. It also isn’t the place to send compromising photos, seriously, if someone asks you for photos, they’re probably not that into you.

Think about the content and the underlying message you’re sending before you ever hit the publish button. As if dating wasn’t awkward enough these days, consider what you’re looking for when creating a profile, uploading pictures, or messaging another user. There’s no judgment, but some people are looking for life-long relationships while others are looking for short-term interactions. Make sure that what you put out sends the message of what you’re looking for.

As the company states in its privacy policy, you should only post content you’re comfortable with everyone seeing. This applies to Bumble users and non-Bumble users as any information in the app can be captured and sent to anyone else.

Final Thoughts

That’d be it, folks! Taking a screenshot of content on Bumble won’t get you in trouble and Bumble does NOT notify the other party if you take a screenshot.

Still, make sure to treat everyone decently, don’t ask for anyone’s credit card number, and pretend to be the prince of an African country – You’re bound to have plenty of fun on the platform! We hope you found this article helpful and wish you plenty of luck with your Bumble-bound exploits!

 

One thought on “Does Bumble Notify the Other User When You Screenshot?”

Avatar Dorene says:
I wants got a notification that somebody I had contacted was now back. I don’t want people notified whether or not I’ve left and come back how do I prevent that from happening where I go when I go is my business I believe. I also don’t want people that I’m talking to you to know that I have put up a new photo. How do I prevent that? I have also noticed that some people can make where they are remain unchanged whether they fly just saw other state or not I want to do that too. I want to know how to make it on the my business whether I stay in Northern California will go to Southern California for the weekend. Please tell me how to do that.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights