What Does the “Your Turn” Notification in Hinge Mean?

Hinge has many useful features that other dating apps don’t offer. For instance, those “prompt answers” can reveal much about a person even though they’re short. But what’s this Your Turn notification?

If you’ve seen it on your profile lately, you may be confused about what Your Turn means. Keep reading this article to learn why the notification keeps appearing and what to do about it.

The Your Turn Notification

Sometimes, you simply forget to respond to a message. It doesn’t mean you don’t want to! That’s why Hinge provides a reminder to let you know you have a pending message you haven’t replied to yet.

Your Turn is a notification you’ll receive when it’s your turn to send a message or a like. You’ll see two different badges on the app icon on your phone’s home screen. The red one means you have new likes to check out, while the blue one is reminding you to reply to a message.

The Your Turn notification doesn’t mean you have to respond. If you don’t feel like chatting to a user anymore, or you don’t want to return the like and match with a user, you can unmatch them or simply ignore the like.

Hinge introduced this feature to reduce “ghosting” – disappearing without an explanation and never replying to a message. Apparently, the Your turn notification helps people connect more efficiently. You can often miss a chance to match with someone because you don’t reply on time. After all, match requests don’t last forever. Even the CEO of Hinge has confirmed the number of “ghosters” has reduced after they added this feature.

However, this little reminder doesn’t seem to help if your match doesn’t like you back and doesn’t want to respond to your message.

hinge turn notification what does it mean

Can I Disable This Notification?

You can disable the notification by responding to the message or hiding the user. However, you can’t disable the feature altogether, so Your Turn notifications will keep popping up whenever it’s your turn to interact with someone.

What you can do is manage all the notifications coming from Hinge. If you want to temporarily pause them while you’re in a meeting, for instance, or don’t want to see them at all, follow the steps below:

  1. Open Settings by tapping the icon at the bottom of your screen.
  2. Select Account to access profile settings.
  3. Find the Push notifications option and switch the toggle to off.

Keeping Your Inbox Neat

It seems that Hinge really puts a lot of effort into making this app an enjoyable experience for all users. Along with the Your Turn reminder, another option was added to the app. It enables you to keep your inbox neat and limits the chances of you ghosting someone. We’re talking about hiding your matches from your inbox.

hinge your turn notification

How to Hide Someone on Hinge

Hiding a match doesn’t mean you don’t ever want to communicate with them. It just means you don’t have the time to do it now. It also helps keep track of your messages and likes. Therefore, it’s less likely you’ll forget to respond to a potential match.

Note that a Hinge chat will automatically be hidden if you don’t communicate with a user for more than 14 days. But if you don’t want to wait for two weeks, this is how:

  1. Open Hinge on your mobile device.
  2. Tap on the Your Turn notification to see whose message you have pending.
  3. Swipe to the left and select Hide.

The hidden chat will now be located at the bottom, under Hidden Matches. You can unhide it whenever you’re ready to keep chatting to this user. While a chat is hidden, you won’t be receiving messages from the hidden match.

How to Unmatch Someone on Hinge

Another option you might want to use is unmatching a Hinge user. If you discover they’re not a good fit or they’ve been bothering you with messages, you can remove them from your matches. Your profile on Hinge won’t be visible to them from now on.

Be careful with this option, though. Only unmatch a person if you’re sure about it because removing people is permanent.

To unmatch a Hinge user, open their profile and do the following:

  1. Navigate to the upper right corner of the screen.
  2. Tap the three-dot icon to open a menu.
  3. You’ll see the Unmatch option within this menu, so select it to remove the person from your matches.

It’s Your Turn Now!

If a Hinge message is coming from someone you like, you’ll definitely appreciate the existence of this feature. Initially designed with forgetful people in mind, there’s now 25% less “ghosting” on the app. The conclusion – we’re pretty forgetful, even when chatting with someone we like.

If you don’t want to reply to a message, you can easily hide it or remove a match from your profile. Either way, the Your Turn notification means it’s your turn to react.

Do you often forget to reply to a message on Hinge? Share your experiences in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights