How to Block and Unblock Someone on Snapchat

Do you have a Snapchat friend that’s making you uncomfortable by sending too many messages? Are they clogging your inbox with Snaps and messages for days on end? If you’re considering blocking them, but you’re not sure how to do so, just keep reading.

In this article, we’ll explain how to block and unblock someone on Snapchat. Plus, we’ll tell you more about what happens after you tap on the “Block” button and how to find out if someone has blocked you.

How Do You Block Someone on Snapchat?

At times, we have to block friends on Snapchat, since that’s the only way to restrict their access to your Stories. Once they’re blocked, they’ll be unable to communicate with you and see your profile. If you’ve decided to block some of your friends on Snapchat, there are two ways you can do this:

  1. Open the Snapchat app.

  2. Swipe right to open your chats.

  3. Click and hold on your contact’s name.

  4. Click on “More” and “Block.”

Or you can try this:

  1. Open the Snapchat app.

  2. Swipe right and open a chat with a friend you want to block.

  3. Click on their profile photo and then click on the three-dot icon.

  4. Tap on “Block.”

What Happens When You Block or Unblock Someone on Snapchat?

Blocking one of your friends means they won’t be able to:

  • Start a chat with you
  • Send a photo or video Snap
  • See what you posted in your Stories
  • Find your account using the Search box

How to Unblock Someone on Snapchat

Whenever you decide to unblock someone on Snapchat, you can do it in just a few simple steps:

  1. Open the Snapchat app.

  2. Click on your profile icon or your Bitmoji at the top of the screen.

  3. Open “Settings” by clicking on the wheel icon.

  4. Go to the “Blocked” list of contacts and tap “X” next to your contact’s name to unblock them.

Snapchat Block and Unblock Someone

What Is the Difference Between Unblock and Block on Snapchat?

Once you block someone on Snapchat, all your communication will stop. When you unblock them, you’ll have to re-add them, and once they accept, you’ll then be ready to send Snaps and messages like you did before.

Why Does Snapchat Not Let Me Unblock Someone?

The block and unblock process is working well on Snapchat, however, they’ve introduced restrictions on blocking and unblocking friends in a short amount of time. In fact, once you block someone, you might be unable to re-add them until a 24-hour window expires.

Additional FAQ

Block and Unblock Someone

Do Blocked People Know When You Unblock Them?

Snapchat doesn’t send notifications to users when someone blocks them. However, there are ways for them to figure it out and check what’s happening.

The easiest way for someone to know if they’re blocked is to check their chat list. If a contact is still on the list, that means that you’re not blocked. However, if you can’t see the chat you had with a friend anymore, it means you’re blocked.

Another way to check if you’re still connected to some of your Snapchat friends is to use the Search box on top of your screen and check if you can find your friend by display name or username. If you can’t, that means you’re blocked. If your friend’s name comes up in the search, but with an add button, that means they’ve deleted you, and you’re not blocked.

What to Do After Unblocking Someone

When you unblock a Snapchat member, you’ll find that it’s possible to send them messages and Snaps to reconnect. Unless your friend’s a popular user with a large number of followers, they’ll have to re-add you as well.

Does Blocking Someone Unsend a Snap?

No, the Snap stays in your contact’s phone, and it can’t be unsend. When you send a Snap, it’s automatically saved, and even if you block someone, that Snap will stay in their phone’s memory until they delete it.

To Block or Not to Block

There are many reasons to block someone on any social media platform, and Snapchat is no exception. Whether they’re sending you too many selfies or they’re your ex-friend who desperately wants to reconnect, you’ll have no other choice but to block them.

Now that we’ve shown you how to block and unblock Snapchat contacts, it’s up to you to decide whether you’re going to do it or not. How often are you blocking people on Snapchat? Do you usually unblock them, or do they stay blocked?

Let us know in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights