How To Tell If Someone Unmatched You On Bumble
Bumble flipped traditional dating on its head with a simple rule: women must initiate the conversation. On Bumble, men and women match with one another just like they do on Tinder, but once a match is made, the woman has to send the first message.
We get a lot of questions at TechJunkie regarding Bumble and other dating apps, such as:
How can you tell if someone unmatched you on Bumble? How can you unmatch with someone you no longer want to date? And, Can you block people on the app?
We are always happy to answer these questions, and in this article, I will do just that.
How to Tell If Someone Unmatched You On Bumble
- How to Tell If Someone Unmatched You On Bumble
- How to Unmatch Someone on Bumble
- Block vs. Unmatch
- What if I Unmatch by Accident?
- Does Bumble Show Profiles That You Already Rejected?
It can be really frustrating and a source of hurt feelings: you’re having a conversation with someone, you think things are going great, and suddenly the other person ghosts on you.
Of course, it’s always more mature to tell a person that you’re just not interested, or that you don’t want to talk anymore, but sometimes people don’t feel safe doing that. In cases like these, how can you figure out what happened?
On Bumble, there are basically two ways for someone to disappear: they can delete their own profile or Bumble account, or they can simply unmatch you.
If they deleted their account, then the conversation will still exist in the Bumble app and you’ll be able to read what was already said. The username of the person you were talking to will say “Deleted Profile.”
On the other hand, if they unmatched you, the conversation will disappear from the chat screen entirely. Their profile will also disappear from your Matches list.
There is a Snooze option within the app as well. If the person you’re interested in has decided to take a break, they can set this status to let you know that they’re gone, but only for a little while.
How to Unmatch Someone on Bumble
Maybe the shoe is on the other foot, and you want to unmatch with someone. The easiest way is to just ignore the match and let Bumble automatically void it; after 24 hours (or 48 hours if someone uses an Extend) Bumble will automatically unmatch the two of you if a conversation hasn’t been initiated. If there has been a conversation, then those matches can also expire, but it takes longer.
If you don’t feel like waiting, you can delete the match by hand. Just hold down the contact and select “Delete Match.” Confirm when asked and the match will disappear. Once deleted, the match is gone though, so be sure about your decision.
If you’re concerned about whether the other person will be notified that you unmatched them, you might want to read this TechJunkie article on the subject to set your mind at ease.
Block vs. Unmatch
As an alternative to unmatching, you can block and report your match to Bumble. Which you should do depends on why you feel it necessary to break the connection.
In general, if someone is behaving inappropriately for you or just doesn’t seem like the right fit, a simple unmatch is enough. But if you feel that there is a threat to you or to other people because your match’s behavior or statements are way outside acceptable bounds, then you should definitely block and report.
The reporting options for both choices are the same, with options for indicating that your match made you uncomfortable, was abusive or threatening, had inappropriate content, was spam or a scam, or used a stolen photograph.
Blocking someone isn’t just to protect yourself, it’s also to protect other members of the community from a predatory or problematic person. If you meet a genuinely bad actor on the site, do everyone a favor and let the Bumble team know about the issue.
Unmatching will not stop someone from coming around to your deck again in the future, potentially, but blocking will.
What if I Unmatch by Accident?
So what do you do if you unmatch someone on accident?
Unfortunately, there is no direct solution. However, if you are serious enough about the lost match that you want to take a fairly drastic step, you can probably match them again.
You will need to uninstall and reinstall the app on your phone. You don’t need to reset your account; uninstalling the app clears your history.
You should narrow your criteria to be as close a match to your lost match as possible – put in the right age range, the exact distance, and as many filters as you can to match with the person’s profile. Hopefully, you will be able to find them in your prospective matches again within a few days. Swipe right again, and hope they do the same, and you’ll be back in touch.
Does Bumble Show Profiles That You Already Rejected?
Bumble has answered this question on their website: “We show our users profiles that they have already left swiped on, just in case they changed their mind or made a mistake. Hence why you may also be shown users who may have swiped left on you in the past in case they would like to swipe right you the 2nd time around!”
The more times you swipe left on the same person, the less likely you’ll see them in the future, though. Also, keep in mind that Bumble doesn’t delete inactive users. So if you feel that someone has rejected you (aka, hasn’t answered you) they may just be inactive.
Will someone know if I unmatch them?
No, your profile will simply disappear for a while.
Can I reset my Bumble account?
You can reset your Bumble account by deleting it then creating a new one. This may put you back in touch with someone who has unmatched you.
What if I accidentally unmatched someone?
The only known workaround to reconnect and find your match again is to delete the app and reinstall it. Set your search parameters to their exact age and any information you have about them, then start swiping.
How long do inactive accounts show up in Bumble?
If an account is inactive for more than 30 days it will be taken out of the deck.