Can You Tell if Someone Deleted Your DM in Instagram?

Instagram’s Direct Messaging (DM) is a neat feature, which allows you to communicate privately with your friends and followers. It connects you in a lot of brilliant ways, from sending them stickers, photos, videos to sending direct posts you think they might love to see. Direct Messaging is a common feature in most social media platforms, but Instagram has put a unique and creative way to this. Instagram calls its direct messaging feature “Instagram Direct.”

TechJunkie's Fast Answer
No
Read the article for more information

As with other direct messaging platforms, there might be times when someone would find the need to delete messages. There can be a number of reasons why someone might want to delete a message, but let’s focus on the big questions here. “Can you recall a message on Instagram?” and “Can you tell if someone deletes your DM?”

These are very common questions among Instagram users. Instagram may be all about the looks but direct messaging also plays a major part in the Instagram experience. A picture may be worth a thousand words but you still need those words to communicate effectively with others on Instagram.

So, like other social networks, communication and the many informal rules that surround it need to be learned in order to survive om Instagram. While that’s too large a subject for one article, I can show you how to use Instagram Direct.

Let’s take a look at whether or not you can tell if someone deleted your DM on Instagram as well as some of the other aspects of Instagram’s Direct Message feature.

How to Access Instagram Direct

Instagram Direct allows you to communicate directly to one or more people through the network without having to post anything on your public feed. You can send video, images, chats, files, locations, hashtags, and all that good stuff.

To access Instagram Direct follow these steps:

  1. Open a feed and select the paper plane icon located in the top right of the screen.
  2. Tap the right-most icon at the top to create a new message and add the person you want to message. Then tap ‘Chat’.

3. Type in your message on the next screen and then tap Send.

If you are sending a message to a person you have sent a DM to before, tapping the paper plane icon will direct you to a list of people you have previously messaged. Simply scroll down to find the person you want to DM and from there you can manage messages you have sent or write a new one.

You can add media by using the media icon. You can also send disappearing media using the colored camera icon.

Can You Tell if Someone Deleted Your DM on Instagram?

While communication is a two-way street, notification isn’t. You can work out a lot using sent, delivered, and seen, but you cannot tell anything else. There have to be some secrets even on social media!

You cannot really tell if someone deleted your DM on Instagram. You can just tell whether it was delivered or seen based on the notification you receive. Instagram does not tell you what happens beyond notifying you that the message was delivered and the message was seen by the intended recipient.

Can You Unsend an Instagram Direct Message?

Ever sent someone a message that you regret? Don’t worry, you’re not alone.

We have all done it and it is apparently called The Fear™. When you send a message to the wrong person or send the right person a very wrong message. It usually happens when drunk, seriously tired, or upset, and can have serious ramifications for your social life. Sometimes you want to reverse what you’ve done.

Fortunately, along with other social networks, there is a way to recall messages on Instagram. To ‘Unsend’ a message you’ve sent using Instagram Direct just follow these steps:

  1. Select the Instagram Direct message you want to Unsend.
  2. Tap and hold that message until a popup appears.
  3. Tap Unsend.

If the recipient has not seen the Instagram Direct Message, they will not get to see it. Unfortunately, if the recipient has seen your Instagram Direct Message then, of course, it’s too late. The message will still be deleted but the damage will have been done.

How to Send a Disappearing Photo or Video using Instagram Direct

Disappearing messages are a cool idea that was first made popular by Snapchat. Like all good ideas, it was copied and used elsewhere on the Internet. This is a useful feature that allows you to send images or videos that will disappear once seen. The message will disappear from your outbox once sent and the recipient’s inbox once viewed. Unfortunately, it doesn’t seem to stop that recipient from taking a screenshot of the media though.

To send a disappearing photo or video using Instagram Direct:

  1. Select New Message as you normally would.
  2. Select the blue image icon to take or add a video or image located to the left of the chat bar.
  3. Take the photo you’d like to send
  4. Use the scroll bar to tap ‘View Once.’
  5. Hit Send.

When in ‘Effects,’ you will see ‘One View,’ ‘Allow Replay,’ or ‘Keep in Chat.’ ‘One View’ allows a the recipient to view the content only once. ‘Allow Replay’ allows a single replay of a video, and ‘Keep in Chat’ allows a preview image to remain in the chat thread. The image or video will still disappear once the relevant criteria have been met.

Can You Direct Message Someone You Don’t Follow on Instagram?

Most of the time messaging is between followers and that’s fine. Most people don’t feel the need to privately message strangers on social media.

Still, there might be times when you see someone in a feed or elsewhere and want to communicate with them directly for one reason or another. Fortunately, with Instagram Direct, you can do the following with regards to Direct Messaging people you don’t follow on Instagram:

  1. Select the recipient from a feed or wherever and select the ‘Message’ icon on the person’s profile page.
  2. Type the message and send it as normal.
  3. The recipient will see the message as a request rather than a DM and can choose to respond or not.

If they respond, you can follow them and use Instagram Direct as normal or continue messaging without following. You cannot send disappearing messages but normal Instagram Direct messages work fine.

One thought on “Can You Tell if Someone Deleted Your DM in Instagram?”

Avatar Gagandeep Sahni says:
I had a recent issue. I m an artist making things by hand. Wanted to vectorise my calligraphy images. Had a long converstaion with a guy. He seemes ok;.. Asked for 1000/- for 3 images. I sent a paytm of the same. Even the link he sent also wasn’t a phone no. It just said DOT..today wen i went back to chk if my work is done. The whole converstaion was no whwre is to be found. It haas just dssappered..can someone help me retrienving messages.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.