Why Do I Get a Snapchat Notification Saying Someone Is Typing, but Then Get Nothing?

Snapchat is not the only app that has typing notifications. Even the old Yahoo Messenger would show you a notification when someone else was writing a message. Of course, some apps only display that notification in the private chat box and not next to a person’s name on the friends’ list.

With Snapchat, things work a bit differently, which is one of the reasons why some users get really ticked about this notification. If you are using the Snapchat messaging feature to communicate with other users you may want to better understand the app’s typing notifications or read receipts.

This article will tell you how these notifications work when they trigger, and why they almost always linger for no apparent reason.

How Typing Notifications Work

Most typing notifications are triggered when a user taps on the text field. Tapping on a text field sends a notification to the receiving user. Because this happens before the message is completed and sent, users get notifications in “real-time” so to speak. This can obviously lead to some errors in communication.

Whenever someone starts to write you a message on Snapchat, the app will display a notification indicating that the person is writing to you. However, if that person stops writing and doesn’t hit Send, but instead leaves the message as is, in order to finish it later, the typing notification will linger until the message is either sent or deleted.

Unlike text messages on your phone or email client, Snapchat doesn’t save unfinished messages as drafts. If it did, then that person could obviously review the message later, wrap it up, and hit send.

Because this is not how Snapchat does things, it’s not uncommon to get stuck with a typing notification from someone, until they’ve finished writing and sent you the message.

typing generic

The same kind of notification occurs if only a single space is added to a message. Consider the following situation. You’re looking for someone but you accidentally tap on someone else’s name. You hit space or you tap a single letter and then realize that it’s the wrong person.

If you don’t delete what you’ve added to the text box before exiting the chat to find the actual intended user, the person you’ve accidentally tapped will likely get stuck with a typing notification from you.

How to Check Why the Typing Notification Is Still Active

There’s no advanced feature that will allow you to check on the status of an unsent message. The only thing you can do is simply message that person back and ask what’s happening. Ask if they’re typing a really long message or ask them to check and see if they’ve accidentally typed something and forgot to delete it or send it.

How to Disable Typing Notifications

Disabling the “someone is typing notifications” is a feature that many Snapchat users would like to have. Especially since, as already established, these notifications can linger on for days when the specific conditions are met. Unfortunately, the trick to disable these notifications is not universal and only works on some phones and versions of Android.

  1. Go to your Home Screen on your phone.
  2. Select Apps.
  3. Go to Settings.
  4. Go to the Notifications tab.
  5. Select Snapchat.
  6. Look for an option that says “silent notifications” or “quiet notifications.”
  7. Turn the feature off.

Again, this may not work for everyone reading this article. It’s possible that it will only work on devices with newer versions of Android Oreo, or Android O.

snapchat generic notification

Do We Really Need Typing Notifications?

One would argue that having the typing notifications is a blessing in disguise as it can indicate someone’s intention to communicate. While that may be true, due to how the event is triggered, these notifications can often be indicative of a user error and nothing more.

Snapchat is an application, and that means it has quirky little glitches just like every other piece of technology. Of course, you can always type back a quick “just a second” message to let another user know you’ve seen it and you’re not ignoring them. But this may not always be an option and quite frankly if the typing notifications didn’t exist you wouldn’t need to worry about this.

Snapchat is designed around user privacy, with the automatic deletion of messages and snaps coupled with the advanced profile privacy settings. Typing notifications tend to go against the user privacy culture of the application.

While some users enjoy knowing someone is about to respond, these notifications may cause discord between the people who are communicating. If you are concerned about typing notifications, understand that these are sometimes misleading.

Disabling Read Receipts

For those users who prefer the privacy culture of the Snapchat app, there are workarounds that allow you to read a new message without alerting the sender. Although you can’t disable these receipts officially within the app, curiosity may get the better of you. Snapchat does have read receipts alerting another user that you have opened their private message.

As stated previously, typing notifications and read receipts can be a blessing or a curse. People get busy or need time to think of the perfect response. Unfortunately, these receipts make it easy to hurt another person’s feelings, even though it is unintended.

To read a snap without alerting another user follow these instructions:

This works for both Apple and Android devices:

  1. Put your phone in Airplane Mode – This should automatically turn wifi off too
  2. Open Snapchat
  3. Tap on the chat icon in the lower left-hand corner
  4. View the message you’re interested in
  5. Close the app – This is important, make sure the app is closed by swiping it away. If not done properly it will run in the background possibly alerting the user you’ve read the message
  6. Turn Airplane Mode off

It’s that simple. It would be nice if Snapchat provided more control over your read receipts, but until the developers implement this option, putting your phone in Airplane Mode will alleviate any hurt feelings. If you don’t have time to respond or you’re not ready to type someone back just yet, this is the method to use.

 

One thought on “Why Do I Get a Snapchat Notification Saying Someone Is Typing, but Then Get Nothing?”

Avatar Bond says:
Get rid of it now, i don’t care if there typing I know they are when the snap come though

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.