How To Tell if Someone Blocked you on Viber

Can you tell if someone blocked you on Viber? What happens? Is being blocked like on Facebook or Instagram? This page will tell you all you need to know about blocking and being blocked on Viber.

Viber is a very credible alternative to Skype or WhatsApp and is very popular in certain circles. It offers all the benefits of those other two apps with some extras. It has a userbase counted in the millions and a free and easy app that makes short work of all the actions you’re likely to need.

As it is a social app, you will have all the usual social elements to manage including expectations, toxicity and the strange behavior that some people adopt when online. Fortunately Viber has all the usual tools for managing interactions online.

Has someone blocked you on Viber?

Like most social networks, Viber doesn’t notify you if you get blocked. That could throw up all kinds of social awkwardness so it’s more of a quiet process like it is on Instagram or Snapchat. There are some signs you may have been blocked though.

No more profile updates

If someone has blocked you on Viber, you will no longer see updates when you check out their profile. If you know they have been active on the network but that isn’t reflected in what you see, it’s a sign that you may have been blocked.

No message received notification

Usually when you send a message on Viber you will see a Delivered or Seen notification showing you the status of the conversation. If you message someone and those notifications don’t appear, you could have been blocked. Messages sent to people who have blocked you will remain as Sent and not Delivered or Seen.

No interactions in group chat

If you’re both active in a group chat, you can send a message to them through that. If they don’t reply, they didn’t get to see the message. If they didn’t get to see the message, they could have blocked you.

Confirming someone has blocked you in Viber

You may have noticed above that I used ‘could have’ or ‘may have’ a lot in the above. That’s because none of these are definite signs you have been blocked. Other behaviors could get the same result so it can be dangerous to jump to conclusions with little evidence.

If you do suspect someone has blocked you in Viber, the best thing to do is ask. If you know them on other social networks, ask them there. If you know them in real life, ask them there. Be nice, be calm and just ask. You could phrase it as if you thought it was a Viber issue rather than a personality or behavior issue to keep it non-confrontational or say it outright. You have to be the judge of how you approach it.

You could also have a friend who also uses Viber to ask them or send them a message. If they respond to your friend’s message quickly but not at all to yours, it’s a good sign they are blocking you. If they don’t respond to your friend either, it could be something completely different and not blocking at all.

How to block on Viber

If you’re on the opposite side of the equation and need to stop someone from annoying you or behaving badly, it is very easy to do.

  1. Open Menu located on the lower right bottom.
  2. Select Settings and Privacy.
  3. Select Block List and Add at the top.
  4. Select the contact you want to block.
  5. Confirm your choice by clicking the Check icon.

If you decide at a later point that you want to interact with them again, repeat the above process but select Unblock instead of Add.

If you’re being hassled by someone who isn’t in your contacts list, like being send spam, you can block those too. When you receive a message from someone not in your contact list, you see a notification that allows you to Add them, Block them or Block and report them.

Select Block and report if they are spamming you or just Block if you know them but don’t want them as a contact. If you want to change your mind, just follow the steps above to Unblock.

Blocking, ignoring and Unliking is a huge can of worms that most people try to avoid wherever possible. Sometimes you don’t have that choice and putting a stop to the behavior with a block is your only option. Now you know how to do it if that is happening to you.

2 thoughts on “How To Tell if Someone Blocked you on Viber”

Avatar Antoaneta says:
You can use this trick: open chat window with person u wanna check if had blocked u, go to chat info, above on the three dots u have EDIT, BLOCK, DELETE. Choose DELETE (it will delete contact both from viber and device contacts). Then wait few seconds and if his picture and nickname disappear and remains only his phone number- HE HAD BLOCKED U. Its working 100%. (Nickname can change if u had saved contact under different name from the one he uses, but is sign he didnt block u). Sometimes both picture and nickname stay few minutes after u have deleted contact, so to not waste time, try to add contact back. If u are blocked, u will see his phone number both in field for name and number.
Avatar EPOI says:
CONFUSING THO..
Avatar Antoaneta says:
What exactly confused you?
Avatar Rose says:
What if message is not showing delivered or seen but you can see their “last seen” status. What does that mean? Thanks in advance for your help.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights