How to Delete All Saved Messages on Snapchat at Once

While Snapchat’s original purpose was to allow users to send pictures, videos, and messages that disappear after being seen, the platform has evolved to allow people to save messages.

Of course, many users aren’t too fond of this feature and are interested in learning how to delete all of their saved messages in Snapchat.

Unfortunately, you cannot delete all your saved messages at once on Snapchat. There is no setting, extension, or third-party app to help you do this.

However, you can delete your saved messages manually. Let’s take a look at how you can delete all of your saved messages in Snapchat.

How to Delete a Saved Message in Snapchat

While it may not be possible to delete all of your messages at once, it is possible to delete individual messages.

When you want to save a certain message in a conversation, all you have to do is press and hold on the message box. A popup window will appear, giving you some options – select “Save in Chat.” The background of the saved message will turn grey.

Unsaving a message is equally simple. Just press and hold it again. The background will go back to normal, and when you reopen Snapchat the message will have auto-deleted as usual.

However, sometimes you’ll do this, but when you return to Snapchat, the message is still there — why is that?

There are two parties to every conversation, and if the other person has saved the message, then it will not disappear from your chat until they un-save it too.

So, if you unsaved the message yet it’s still there, chances are the other party saved it. The only way to get rid of it permanently would be to ask the other person to delete the message as well.

How to Delete a Conversation in Snapchat

If you are less concerned with deleting the message from history and more concerned with uncluttering your feed, there is a relatively simple option that will actually let you greatly pare down your feed very quickly, and that is to delete entire conversations.

Note that deleting a conversation does NOT erase any saved messages – it only removes the conversation from your display. If you and the same person exchange more chat messages or snaps, then any saved messages will once again show up.

Still, this is a good way to clean up your Snapchat if you’ve had a lot of conversations that you’d rather not have show up in your feed.

Deleting conversations is pretty simple.

Open up the Settings menu and follow these steps:

Scroll down to the Privacy section, and tap on Clear Conversations.

A list of all your conversations will appear; tap on the X next to the conversation you want to erase.

Confirm your selection by tapping Clear.

To see whether the conversation is gone, restart Snapchat and go to your inbox. There should be no sign of the thread anywhere. Of course, this only removes the conversation from your device, so the other person will still have it.

Deleting Local Information

There are a few third-party apps that let you clear out your Snapchat conversations, but iMyFone Umate Pro seems to be the most popular one. The software is capable enough to make sure all your conversations are gone for good.

It can also remove any other data that you don’t want to see anymore, not just on Snapchat but pretty much any other apps as well.

Here’s how to use the program to delete your entire Snapchat history from your iPhone.

  1. Install and run iMyFone Umate Pro on your PC or Mac.
  2. Connect your iOS device to the computer.
  3. Open the Erase Private Fragments window, then select the Snapchat icon.
  4. Click Erase Now.

This will remove all private data on Snapchat, including all your saved messages. If you want to do this for other apps as well, the fastest way would be the Erase All Data option. This will wipe all private data from your iPhone, so make sure to back up whatever you need first.

If I delete a conversation, will the other user still be able to see it?

Yes, if you clear a conversation rather than waiting for the message to expire it will still exist on the other users’ end for the allotted time period.

Do my chats disappear after 24 hours?

The time it takes for your chat to disappear depends on your settings. If you long-press on the chat you will see an option for ‘Delete after viewing’ and ‘Delete in 24 hours.’

The Final Word

The lack of bulk deletion options in Snapchat is probably just a side effect of the app’s original purpose. There was a time when needing to delete your saved messages was ridiculous because there were no saved messages. That was the whole point of the app in the first place.

So, while it is frustrating for users, Snapchat’s lack of deletion options is probably not going to change any time soon. If you discover an easy way of getting rid of all your messages in Snapchat at once, feel free to share it in the comments section below.

Did you find this article helpful? If so, good news: we have a lot more Snapchat resources for you to peruse!

One thought on “How to Delete All Saved Messages on Snapchat at Once”

Avatar John says:
Will clearing a conversation of all saved chats delete stuff I sent that someone else saved in chat
Avatar kiki says:
No.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.