How To Tell If Someone Blocked You On Instagram
Social networks have become incredibly popular. They allow you to get instant gratification when someone “likes” your post, or leaves an encouraging comment. It’s also a great way to share memories with loved ones who might not live nearby. But then again, it’s really, really easy to be hurt on the internet.
Many social media platforms can quickly become a harsh space where people, hiding behind the mask of anonymity, are way more vicious or uncaring than they ever would be in real life. Social media comments can also be taken the wrong way, making platforms like Facebook or Instagram places where feelings get hurt over what you thought was a funny comment, or where a seemingly innocuous joke can see you socially shunned.
Now, if you’ve done something truly heinous, you should probably work on fixing that, but if you simply said the wrong thing at the wrong time, it may feel like the punishment doesn’t fit the crime. Blocking is one way of doling out the punishment to someone on social media, and it’s fairly easy to block someone who has been offensive, especially on Instagram.
Let’s say you’ve put your foot in your mouth with a comment on someone’s Instagram photo. Maybe you thought it was another person, or maybe you misjudged the poster’s sense of humor. Suddenly, you stop hearing from that person, and while you’d like to make a heartfelt apology, you’re not sure how. So how can you tell if someone blocked you on Instagram?
The answer isn’t as straightforward as we would like.
How Can You Tell If You Have Been Blocked On Instagram?
- How Can You Tell If You Have Been Blocked On Instagram?
- What To Do If Someone Blocks You On Instagram
- Frequently Asked Questions
Instagram doesn’t notify you if you have been blocked; in fact, as far as I’m aware, most social media platforms respect your privacy when it comes to culling unwanted members from your group of followers. As you can imagine, alerting someone that they have been blocked goes against the attempt to create a safe space for collaboration and positive interaction.
Reminding someone that they have been shunned is not a good way to endear you to that network, so they typically don’t broadcast that information to the parties involved.
Though you are not notified if you have been blocked, there are a few ways you can find out for yourself. They are not definitive by any means and could easily be coincidental, but if you experience any of these and think you may have been blocked, it might be true.
1. Check Their Instagram Profile
You might have to backtrack a bit for this one, but it’s worth the effort. Find a comment your possible blocker made on one of your posts, and tap their user name in order to go to their profile. When you land on the profile if you see a post count but no posts, it’s a pretty clear sign that you have been blocked. You will likely see their profile page with the counts at the top, as usual, their profile pic, and basic details. So far so normal.
When you scroll down, where you would usually see a list of their latest posts or comments, you will see ‘No Posts Yet’. This could be a sign you have been blocked.
2. Use Instagram Search
Searching for the profile on Instagram is a prime way to find out if you have been blocked or not. If they come up in search and you see the same as above, the counts, profile pic but ‘No Posts Yet’ then you could have been blocked.
If you see the profile page as normal with counts and posts or you see ‘This Account is Private’ you have not been blocked. This perhaps means you’ve been deleted so it will be difficult to view anything.
3. Use A Web Search
This method works if you have a PC or other device on hand. Without logging into Instagram, use the search https://www.instagram.com/USERNAME and switch USERNAME for the person’s username. You should be able to see the user’s profile picture, counts, and either a collection of photos or a “This Account is Private” message.
For the next step, log into your Instagram account, and do the same search. If you’re blocked, you will see ‘Sorry this page isn’t available’.
You will also see this message if they have deactivated their account, so it isn’t an exact science. If you see ‘Sorry this page isn’t available’ in the first step and the second step, that’s a pretty good sign the user has completely deactivated their account and so it’s not you, it’s them.
4. Phone A Friend
The final way to see if you’re blocked on Instagram is to ask a friend to check- a mutual friend who also follows the user who may have blocked you is best. Ask them to check the person’s profile or posts and see what comes up. If they see the same things as you it may not be a block at all. If they see their profile and can see posts, then it is likely you have received the Ol’ Blockaroo. Now to figure out what you did…
What To Do If Someone Blocks You On Instagram
You have two options if you have been blocked by someone on social media: You can forget them and move on, or you can try to find out what happened and repair the damage. What you do depends on how good a friend they are and whether or not you value that friendship… and if you’ve learned from this experience. But, only you can answer that.
If you decide to move on, more power to you. There are millions of other people in this world, and finding new, fun people to talk to on the internet is really quite simple. Gaining followers can be a fun diversion, too! Blocking happens all the time for all kinds of reasons and sometimes for no reason at all. It’s not always personal; you may have just fallen victim to a social media New Year’s resolution purge.
If you do value the friendship, contact them on another network, directly, or even in person, and ask them what is going on. Be nice, be calm, and just ask the question. Going in with both barrels blazing will not get you what you want, so make sure they know you are asking out of concern and not out of ego. Then do what you can to repair the damage depending on what they say.
It isn’t as easy as it could be to tell if someone blocked you on Instagram; There are ways to find out, but they are far from precise. The above signs should give you an idea, and where you go from there is entirely up to you!
Frequently Asked Questions
If I’m blocked and send a DM, will I know that I’m blocked?
Unfortunately, no. If someone is blocked on Instagram, the messages, and even their name and profile still appear. But, you won’t ever get a response back because the recipient won’t see it.
On the other hand, if you block someone, their profile picture and name will no longer appear in your DMs.
How can I be sure that they didn’t deactivate their Instagram account?
Since blocking and closing an account act similarly it may be difficult to tell whether you’ve been blocked or if someone stopped using the app. There are a couple of ways to find out if someone’s account is still active.
First, you can always check with a mutual friend. Assuming they haven’t been blocked they’ll be able to see the account. Second, you can use another Instagram account (the app lets us create multiple) and check for their account that way.
Lastly, if you know the person’s username you can type https://www.instagram.com/username to see a preview of their account. Of course, type their username rather than the word ‘username’ to see the results. If their profile appears, the account is still active.